Boston Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
My husband loves Boston Cream Pie and he really enjoyed this one. I tried experimenting a bit. I used cake flour, 3 egg whites, and light margarine for the cake. I did not have a 9-inch pan so I put it in two 8-inch pans. I baked it for less time. I used 3 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips w/2 tbls. butter and 1/2c confectioners' sugar along w/vanilla and some water. The cake came out really thin and dense. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
I made this Boston Cream Pie recipe that my mother requested for her birthday. I was looking for it in my cookbooks till I found this site. I made it exactly as it said. This recipe was just what I was looking for. It was fabulous! Slicing the cake was the hard part, was a little difficult. But other than that it was very tasteful. My brother thought I bought it from a bakery! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
My husband loved this recipe! I changed it slightly by using half banana extract and half vanilla for the custard. I thought the banana was a little strong, but my husband said he could hardly tast it. I have been told that my taste buds are very sensitive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
Perfect Perfect Perfect. The exact recipe I was looking for!! Was not any trouble at all!! I did whisk the custard instead of stir it, and also used semisweet chocolate instead of unsweetened. The cake is not hard to make- and I would definitely do that instead of buy a yellow box cake, I just don't think it would be the same. I had about 10 different people try it and they loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I made this today as a birthday cake and was very pleased about the results. I used a golden yellow cake mix (as I can't seem to get my homemade cakes that light yet) but followed the directions for the filling and glaze. It had just the right amount of sweetness, the richness of the chocolate just balancing the custard. I used about a quarter cup of chocolate chips in the glaze and microwaved the chips and the butter until melted then added the sugar, vanilla and water until I got the right consistency. All of the birthday party guests had great things to say! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
Great if you have the time and some skill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
I took a shortcut and used a yellow boxed cake mix, but this was devine. The custard filling and chocolate glaze were the best and taste just like I had gotten it from a bakery. I used a wire wisk to continuously stir the custard and it came out lump free. I could use a little help on cutting the cake in half, but overall, this was an excellent recipe and I will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
This was really good. I make just a few changes: I doubled the chocolate glaze because I like a thick layer of chocolate, I folded 4 oz of thawed frozen whipped topping into the cream filling after it had cooled completely--that created a fluffy cream center that was just devine! Made this for the in-laws, they liked it!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
I added a shot (1oz) of Irish Cream to the milk amounts of the custard and the cake. Fantastic taste! Also, I cheated and used canned frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I've made this a couple of times (using cake mixes, instead of the cake recipie provided. It came out really well, except the first time my custard was a bit lumpy. The second time it was excellent. It's good enough that I'm planning on making it for thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States