Boston Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2000
Kids love the cake and custard. but the chocolate glaze probably needs to be thinned out a little more. Also, don't bake over 35 min. even if toothpick is not perfectly clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
My family fought over the last piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2000
One of my favorite of the Boston Cream Pie recipes because it calls for one pan. Though splitting a single cake may be challenging for some, it sure cuts down on clean-up after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2000
I made this cake for my dad's birthday, and we loved it! I cheated....I used a boxed cake mix (butter flavored yellow), but it turned out beautifully. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2000
It was delicious, but a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
My husband loves Boston Cream Pie and he really enjoyed this one. I tried experimenting a bit. I used cake flour, 3 egg whites, and light margarine for the cake. I did not have a 9-inch pan so I put it in two 8-inch pans. I baked it for less time. I used 3 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips w/2 tbls. butter and 1/2c confectioners' sugar along w/vanilla and some water. The cake came out really thin and dense. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
I made this Boston Cream Pie recipe that my mother requested for her birthday. I was looking for it in my cookbooks till I found this site. I made it exactly as it said. This recipe was just what I was looking for. It was fabulous! Slicing the cake was the hard part, was a little difficult. But other than that it was very tasteful. My brother thought I bought it from a bakery! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
Great if you have the time and some skill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
My husband loved this recipe! I changed it slightly by using half banana extract and half vanilla for the custard. I thought the banana was a little strong, but my husband said he could hardly tast it. I have been told that my taste buds are very sensitive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I wasn't very impressed with this pie. The cake didn't have much flavor to it and was difficult to cut in half--it was entirely too soft, and just fell apart. I couldn't get the lumps out of the pudding no matter how hard I tried, and once the pie was in the refrigerator, the glaze got so hard, you couldn't slice the pie without the top layer bouncing off. I made it for Thanksgiving and no one really liked it--not one person who tried it finished their piece. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States