Boston Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by ruth1234
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This cake was delicious. My family loved it. The only thing I did differently was that I used dark chocolate for the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruth1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
The cake was terrible, the shortening made it taste really bad, even though the custard and the chocolate were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Borja, Lima, Peru
Living In: Deland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
A satisfying combination of chocolate, vanilla custard and cake. I just used chocolate ganache instead of the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
It was good and very sweet. If you have a sweet tooth this would take care of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I didn't like this recipe, I love to bake but I found this recipe to just all around flop out. If I had to make again I would substitute a regular chocolate buttercream icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Delicious and very easy to make. I also used a yellow cake mix from the box as suggested by another user on this site. Both the custard and the glaze turned out excellent and the whole thing was fast and easy to make. I definiely recommend this is anyone who is looking for a unique but easy cake recipe. I made it for my boyfriend's birthday and it was a hit all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I made this cake for my Dad on father's day because it's his favourite, it was exellent. I used pudding jell-o for filling though, because it didn't get very good reveiws and I had some in the house. Also, I baked it in a silicone pan and waited 10-15 minutes before removing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
I have tried so many recipes off this site and always ben pleased even though I may have had to weak things to my taste....however, this was the WORST cake I have ever had. I can't find one redeeming point about this recipe. The cake is very bland and very heavy and dense. The custard also has no taste and was very difficult to set. I had to add another egg and used Irish Cream to flavor the custard to make it nice. The chocolate glaze is entirely too much, cut down the chocolate a bit or better yet, use the Caroline's Fudge Frosting recipe. All in all, when one has to change a recipe so much that you are combing three different recipes, you can no longer rate it as good. I've never given any recipe bad reviews but this one just needs so much more work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VoodooKitty

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Macclesfield, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I'd rate this recipe a ***** for taste - I had to alter it so much it's not really the same recipe. We love Boston Cream Pie - but I don't like the fake rum flavor of the store bought kind. My changes give a light rum flavor not the fake. Soooo, what I did was to use a yellow cake mix (with 1/2 c rum, 1/2 c water & 1/2 c oil, 4 eggs and 3 3/4 oz package of vanilla instant pudding). Then after that was baked, cut the cake to make 2 layers rather than one. Doubled the custard recipe to fill 2 layers (had to use more corn starch to thicken it) and then glazed it with the original chocolate recipe. Now that is a ***** Boston Cream Pie. I didn't find this recipe too difficult to make and I have tried the boxed one - ewww it wasn't very nice. This is awesome compared to the store made or boxed version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORA.V

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I've made this twice, first time I wasn't overly impressed with the custard. This time I added an egg yolk and extra 1/2tsp vanilla and was much happier with the results. Whisking constantly while cooking prevents lumps from forming from the corn starch. Not sure what I did but this last time I made the cake it came out badly; so in a pinch (FYI) the betty crocker yellow cake mix works well with the other components ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oxford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States