Boston Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
The cake & glaze part of this recipe is wonderful, but I can't vouch for the filling. I used a separate Pastry Cream recipe from this site for the filling instead. All in all, a lovely and pretty cake. I split into two small 6 inch cakes and they turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This is a really good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
hubby said this was the "bomb" i followed the recipe to a "T" .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I only used the cake recipe for this one and the pastry cream of another one. The cake was superb, the pastry cream wasn't thick enough and ran all over the place. Next time, when I have an entire day to devote to Boston cream pie, I will use this pastry cream recipe, although I find the technique a little odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gastlygoul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Avoca, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I only used the custard and chocolate parts of this recipe. I was afraid to use the cake part of this recipe, based on the negative reviews, so I used just a Duncan Hines Golden Butter mix. As it turns out, the boxed cake mix was the highlight. The custard was tasteless, and didn't set up well, and by the time I was ready to serve the cake from the fridge (about 4 hours after assembly) the chocolate top had become a tarmac. This cake was for my husband's birthday, and I actually had to cut a hole through the topping with a paring knife to insert a candle. The layers slid apart while eating due to the runny custard, and the amount of force needed to cut through the chocolate tarmac. I won't use any part of this recipe again, but thanks just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I used a box cake mix because of others stating it was better. I loved the icing and the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This just did not turn out for me. It was one disaster after another. I might one day try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by F18NavyWife
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was okay. The cake was crumbly and hard to handle. The filling and glaze were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by F18NavyWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ruth1234
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This cake was delicious. My family loved it. The only thing I did differently was that I used dark chocolate for the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruth1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
The cake was terrible, the shortening made it taste really bad, even though the custard and the chocolate were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Borja, Lima, Peru
Living In: Deland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States