Boston Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This cake was awesome! The only real problem I had was not enough filling, but that is really not a problem, just next time I will double the filling. I did sift the sugar with the cornstarch before I started to cook it and it was very smooth and creamy, not lumpy like some people said. Thanks for the recipe. It was my first time making Boston Cream Pie and it was pretty easy, just tiring stiring the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I had no problems with the cake, but I did use a diff. recipe for the pastry cream. My family enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I gave this 3 stars because the kids liked it, even though I didn't like it at all. The cake was, at best, just OK. The custard was *pasty* and flavorless. The chocolate was just OK too ... a little grainy. I made cake, filling, and chocolate according to recipe except for subbing a half-and-half mix of applesauce and butter for the shortening called for. Also, I made the cake batter into a dozen cupcakes, which I sliced into thirds when cooled, filled, and glazed. (I think that *presentation* added to the kids' enjoyment.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was a GREAT recipe! I did make a couple of changes. I used my own custard recipe which is basically the same as this one but the quantities are different and I wanted a bit more. I also used can frosting for the top simply because I bought 4 cans at Sams the other day and had it on hand. If you are pressed for time, I would recommend can frosting but please don't fudge on the cake. The cake was delicious and I cannot imagine any box mix being as good. I want to add a couple of hints to the custard. It isn't necessary to add the eggs at the end. It is fine to add them to the beginning. All custard recipes say to add them at the end but as someone who learned to make custard on a chair in her grandmother's kitchen, adding them with the rest of the ingredients is OK. Also, once it boils, let it boil for about 3 minutes. One minute is not long enough. It must boil for 3 in order to completely set for a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Good, also mixed cornstarch, salt and sugar until fine powder, cake was a little thin and difficult to cut. Make sure to use clear vanilla so custard is nice color, also micro the chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and something went wrong. This cake didn't really rise, it ended up being about 1 inch thick. Well, I frosted it with the chocolate and then used the pastry cream (that I had leftover from another recipe) as a 'dipping sauce'. LOL. My guests were ok with it, it tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Good all over, but the chocolate topping was too heavy and thick. I think that I will just use store bought or a creamy chocolate recipie for the topping. But the cake and the pudding center was the best! Will definetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrow81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
The cake & glaze part of this recipe is wonderful, but I can't vouch for the filling. I used a separate Pastry Cream recipe from this site for the filling instead. All in all, a lovely and pretty cake. I split into two small 6 inch cakes and they turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This is a really good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
hubby said this was the "bomb" i followed the recipe to a "T" .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States