Boston Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I read the reviews. No parchment paper on hand, so I skipped it. I cut the shortening into the flour mixture with a pastry blender, which worked well. The cake was delicious, but it wouldn't come out of the pan! I bought parchment paper, made another cake, this time using butter instead of shortening, also cutting in the butter, it was really good. I made the filling in a double boiler (I have scorched many custards in a saucepan!). This didn't work very well, as it never boiled. The taste was amazing, although a bit on the runny side (it looked nothing like the photo!!). The glaze was perfect. The recipe itself is a 5. My technique needs some work! I will definitely try this recipe again. I know it tasted good, because even the crumbs got eaten!! Next time, I would like it to have a better presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
My boyfriend AND HIS MOM loved this cake. He wants me to make it again soon so that his dad can try it too. They both especially loved the chocolate glaze. The only trouble I ran into was when I made the actual cake. I had to make it twice. The first time, I made the mistake of using COLD shortening, so I don't think it mixed as well as it could have. The second time, I replaced the shortening with olive oil (I wanted vegetable oil but we had none) and it came out great. I used a serrated knife to cut the cake in half and had no problems doing so, the trick is to not saw the cake, but cut in one direction. Hope this helps! Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Turned out great. Cut the cake using the dental floss. Made for a friends birthday party. Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
My cake did not rise at all and was very flat and dense, although the flavor was great. Rather than split it, I made another cake using the same recipe. The custard and chocolate topping turned out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I can't speak for the icing or the filling, but this cake recipe is wonderful and moist. However, I prefer to bake it in two layers rather than split it, so if you are like me, just enter 18 servings for the amount and hit calculate, and this should give you enough batter for two 9 inch pans (use 2 eggs instead of 1 1/2 though). Some advice on pastry cream: mixing the sugar and cornstarch in the beginning is essential to smoothe cream, but there is also another problem. Even after you remove the pan from heat, the custard continues to cook, and thus, if you do not continue to stir afterwards, you may still get lumps. To combat this, chill a metal or ceramic mixing bowl in your freezer before beginning the cooking process. Once thickened, remove the custard to the bowl, mixing all the while, and stir until the custard is no longer hot. (If you have a stand mixer, you can use the accompanying mixing bowl and mix on low speed until cool). For the topping, I used a dark chocolate ganache (1c scalding hot evaporated milk or cream, 8oz 70% dark chocolate, 1/4c sugar: pour the hot milk over the chocolate and sugar; stir to combine; chill until spreadable consistency.) Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeTheBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Devine, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This cake was awesome! The only real problem I had was not enough filling, but that is really not a problem, just next time I will double the filling. I did sift the sugar with the cornstarch before I started to cook it and it was very smooth and creamy, not lumpy like some people said. Thanks for the recipe. It was my first time making Boston Cream Pie and it was pretty easy, just tiring stiring the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I had no problems with the cake, but I did use a diff. recipe for the pastry cream. My family enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I gave this 3 stars because the kids liked it, even though I didn't like it at all. The cake was, at best, just OK. The custard was *pasty* and flavorless. The chocolate was just OK too ... a little grainy. I made cake, filling, and chocolate according to recipe except for subbing a half-and-half mix of applesauce and butter for the shortening called for. Also, I made the cake batter into a dozen cupcakes, which I sliced into thirds when cooled, filled, and glazed. (I think that *presentation* added to the kids' enjoyment.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was a GREAT recipe! I did make a couple of changes. I used my own custard recipe which is basically the same as this one but the quantities are different and I wanted a bit more. I also used can frosting for the top simply because I bought 4 cans at Sams the other day and had it on hand. If you are pressed for time, I would recommend can frosting but please don't fudge on the cake. The cake was delicious and I cannot imagine any box mix being as good. I want to add a couple of hints to the custard. It isn't necessary to add the eggs at the end. It is fine to add them to the beginning. All custard recipes say to add them at the end but as someone who learned to make custard on a chair in her grandmother's kitchen, adding them with the rest of the ingredients is OK. Also, once it boils, let it boil for about 3 minutes. One minute is not long enough. It must boil for 3 in order to completely set for a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Good, also mixed cornstarch, salt and sugar until fine powder, cake was a little thin and difficult to cut. Make sure to use clear vanilla so custard is nice color, also micro the chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States