Boston Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Turned out great. Cut the cake using the dental floss. Made for a friends birthday party. Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
My cake did not rise at all and was very flat and dense, although the flavor was great. Rather than split it, I made another cake using the same recipe. The custard and chocolate topping turned out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I can't speak for the icing or the filling, but this cake recipe is wonderful and moist. However, I prefer to bake it in two layers rather than split it, so if you are like me, just enter 18 servings for the amount and hit calculate, and this should give you enough batter for two 9 inch pans (use 2 eggs instead of 1 1/2 though). Some advice on pastry cream: mixing the sugar and cornstarch in the beginning is essential to smoothe cream, but there is also another problem. Even after you remove the pan from heat, the custard continues to cook, and thus, if you do not continue to stir afterwards, you may still get lumps. To combat this, chill a metal or ceramic mixing bowl in your freezer before beginning the cooking process. Once thickened, remove the custard to the bowl, mixing all the while, and stir until the custard is no longer hot. (If you have a stand mixer, you can use the accompanying mixing bowl and mix on low speed until cool). For the topping, I used a dark chocolate ganache (1c scalding hot evaporated milk or cream, 8oz 70% dark chocolate, 1/4c sugar: pour the hot milk over the chocolate and sugar; stir to combine; chill until spreadable consistency.) Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeTheBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Devine, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This cake was awesome! The only real problem I had was not enough filling, but that is really not a problem, just next time I will double the filling. I did sift the sugar with the cornstarch before I started to cook it and it was very smooth and creamy, not lumpy like some people said. Thanks for the recipe. It was my first time making Boston Cream Pie and it was pretty easy, just tiring stiring the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I had no problems with the cake, but I did use a diff. recipe for the pastry cream. My family enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I gave this 3 stars because the kids liked it, even though I didn't like it at all. The cake was, at best, just OK. The custard was *pasty* and flavorless. The chocolate was just OK too ... a little grainy. I made cake, filling, and chocolate according to recipe except for subbing a half-and-half mix of applesauce and butter for the shortening called for. Also, I made the cake batter into a dozen cupcakes, which I sliced into thirds when cooled, filled, and glazed. (I think that *presentation* added to the kids' enjoyment.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was a GREAT recipe! I did make a couple of changes. I used my own custard recipe which is basically the same as this one but the quantities are different and I wanted a bit more. I also used can frosting for the top simply because I bought 4 cans at Sams the other day and had it on hand. If you are pressed for time, I would recommend can frosting but please don't fudge on the cake. The cake was delicious and I cannot imagine any box mix being as good. I want to add a couple of hints to the custard. It isn't necessary to add the eggs at the end. It is fine to add them to the beginning. All custard recipes say to add them at the end but as someone who learned to make custard on a chair in her grandmother's kitchen, adding them with the rest of the ingredients is OK. Also, once it boils, let it boil for about 3 minutes. One minute is not long enough. It must boil for 3 in order to completely set for a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Good, also mixed cornstarch, salt and sugar until fine powder, cake was a little thin and difficult to cut. Make sure to use clear vanilla so custard is nice color, also micro the chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and something went wrong. This cake didn't really rise, it ended up being about 1 inch thick. Well, I frosted it with the chocolate and then used the pastry cream (that I had leftover from another recipe) as a 'dipping sauce'. LOL. My guests were ok with it, it tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Good all over, but the chocolate topping was too heavy and thick. I think that I will just use store bought or a creamy chocolate recipie for the topping. But the cake and the pudding center was the best! Will definetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrow81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States