Boston Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
The custard was OK, but nothing special. The cake was not good. It was only about 1 inch high! The texture was off and just didn't taste too great. The chocolate sauce was the perfect amount and tasted fine, but again, nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beautiful Disaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This cake was very tasty. It had a wonderful flavor and was very moist. I was tempted to eat it all before I added the custard and topping! The custard was a good consistency and flavor. I didn't have the squares and used cocoa instead, so I messed it up a little bit. Also, I felt that it needed a little more of the topping, so next time I'll multiply the ingredients by one and a half. I poured half of the batter into each of two cake pans, because I don't like to cut cakes in half. That worked really well. For those who thought that the recipe was "tasteless", you may be using generic vanilla. I have found that when I use good vanilla, it really affects the flavor of my desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This always comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Very tasty, I feel it needs more vanilla flavor in the custard, next time I will make 1/2 batch of custard and add vanilla pudding. Used the leftovers to make triffle and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I used butter instead of shortening in the cake. It turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Really really good. Made it for my 11 yr old daughter's bday. She loved it as did the whole family. The cake fell apart after I cut the layers, but it may have been too warm still...My custard wasn't runny at all, so make sure you cook it a good minute to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I read the reviews. No parchment paper on hand, so I skipped it. I cut the shortening into the flour mixture with a pastry blender, which worked well. The cake was delicious, but it wouldn't come out of the pan! I bought parchment paper, made another cake, this time using butter instead of shortening, also cutting in the butter, it was really good. I made the filling in a double boiler (I have scorched many custards in a saucepan!). This didn't work very well, as it never boiled. The taste was amazing, although a bit on the runny side (it looked nothing like the photo!!). The glaze was perfect. The recipe itself is a 5. My technique needs some work! I will definitely try this recipe again. I know it tasted good, because even the crumbs got eaten!! Next time, I would like it to have a better presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
My boyfriend AND HIS MOM loved this cake. He wants me to make it again soon so that his dad can try it too. They both especially loved the chocolate glaze. The only trouble I ran into was when I made the actual cake. I had to make it twice. The first time, I made the mistake of using COLD shortening, so I don't think it mixed as well as it could have. The second time, I replaced the shortening with olive oil (I wanted vegetable oil but we had none) and it came out great. I used a serrated knife to cut the cake in half and had no problems doing so, the trick is to not saw the cake, but cut in one direction. Hope this helps! Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Turned out great. Cut the cake using the dental floss. Made for a friends birthday party. Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States