Boston Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was good, but not the best. I really loved the cake. That deserves 5 stars! However, the filling was good, but could use a little more flavor and the frosting, wasn't the best. Overall, the cake was good and I would make it again, I would just alter it a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Followed the directions just as they are. Cake turned out perfect for my son's birthday. Very moist. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Over the last several years, this cake recipe has become the standard birthday cake for every family member. I've tried tweaking it here and there, but I always end up back at the recipe exactly as it is written. It is absolutely delicious! The chocolate icing does take some patience. Don't be in a hurry... keep the temperature low when melting the chocolate. It takes longer, but the icing is more manageable. The icing is meant to be firm; it is not soft and fluffy. But then we like it that way! Very rich. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanagerzoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I made this recipe as stated but this recipe does not represent the true creamy dessert. The chocolate topping turned into a hardened shell which was difficult to cut. The custard was good by itself when first made but the consistency turned lumpy and thick once it cooled and it sucked all the moisture out of the cake as it continued to turn into a thick gelatin mass. There was nothing creamy about this cake at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Delicious and fairly easy! I tried this recipe for the first time today for my brother's birthday and it was a huge hit! What was especially nice was that both adults and kids enjoyed the cake. I did not adjust - tasty as is! The cake was easy to make (and I even had all of the ingredients already) and while it was baking, I made the custard. After the cake and custard cooled, the chocolate glaze was quick to make and then the cake was assembled. I will DEFINITELY bake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tristalk
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Delicious! I used Two Cake Pans and made sure to flour and grease the pan (because I made this twice, it stuck and RUINED it.) It was my hubby's Birthday Cake. I didn't use the Icing, Betty Crocker took that Job...Everything Else was all By Direction. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristalk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I've made this 2x. I was convinced that I did something wrong the 1st time. The cake falls apart and crumbles and it doesn't taste good. The cream had NO FLAVOR ... I had to make some vanilla pudding and add it to the pastry cream. I ended up using (gasp) a boxed cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
i made this for my bf's birthday and it was awesome! I followed the recipe for the cake, filling, and glaze exactly except i added 1 1/2 TBS Cocoa powder to the filling and i used a dark chocolate bar for the glaze instead of the unsweetened baking chocolate. The cake was so yummy, it was the first time i made a cake from scratch and i dont think ill ever go back to using box mixes :) so easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
good but hard to make. (Not a fault of the recipe - just of the boston cream pie)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALEYANA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I made this for the first time tonight, used a different pastry cream recipe as suggested, and the cake came out DELICIOUS. My mother, who is a big fan of boston cream's, loved it. Absolute success : ) Just stir the custard constantly to avoid lumps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Axelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States