Boston Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
excellent! huney loved it, used a yellow cake mix and made 2 9 inch cakes. followed recipe for the rest of the pie. will def make again! thanks for hte recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Maine, USA
Living In: Benton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Like another reviewer, I too used a cake mix...French vanilla flavor. I used the dental floss trick to make the layers thinner and completely flat. The filling was delicious, and I especially loved the dark chocolate glaze. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
My daughter's 18th birthday cake!! Very good; the filling was a bit runny and it browned a bit on the stovetop so I microwaved it in a glass cup and stirred in another tablespoon of cornstarch with an extra 1/4 c. milk. I also added a bit of banana extract. It turned out excellent and the amount was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This was okay...I've had better at Safeway's bakery. If you live at a high altitude, you need to find another recipe for the cake part, as I learned the hard way. Also, after you temper the yolks for the custard, it needs to be cooked longer than a minute....about three in order to set up. For the chocolate, I used way more than two tablespoons of hot water to get it to a spreadable consistency. Okay...but not worth the effort for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
My daughter saw a Boston cream pie in an add, and I wanted to show her we could make our own. Big mistake. I am really experienced at cakes, but I followed the recipe exactly and came out with a crumbly cake that I had to remove the crust from because it stuck to my well greased and floured pan, and it was thick and crusty. I put it in the freezer for 10 minutes which made it easier to split. The custard is fine, the chocolate frosting had too strong a cocoa flavor for my taste so I added a half a can of store bought chocolate icing. I was disappointed and won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
So easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and while it wasn't bad, it wasn't great either. It was very simple to make but the cake itself was kind of bland. For some reason my cake came out more dough like and was very crumbly. I thought the chocolate glaze was the best part and turned out great. I'm going to try making Boston Cream Pie again but will try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I read through the reviews just to troubleshoot before I attempted this with my seven year old son. I was amazed at how many people used a box cake mix and or used a different filling or glaze. I did not--we used the whole recipe. This was kind of a last minute decision for Remember Grampy Day as this was one of his favorite desserts. The recipe was simple enough to follow but not really one of our favorites. The cake was crumbly but tasty but the filling seemed to be missing something (maybe another egg?) and the glaze didn't seem to work out. It was fun and we laughed at our attempt as it turned out kind of.....ugly but we had fun and that's really what matters in the end. Next time, we'll just try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
The cake turned out thin and a bit crumbly, but it tasted good! I'm not sure if it was the cake flour I used or the altitude where I live (~5000 ft). I'm going to tweak the custard and the chocolate glaze, but overall, I think this recipe is a good jumping off point. Next time I make it, I'm going to make two cakes so I don't have to attempt to cut one thin cake in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnatgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This Boston Cream Pie was Great!! Followed the recipe and couldn't ask for a better result. Would recommend this to my friends and family. Try it for yourself. I've had problems with chocolate icing in the past, but this turned out great. Substituted bakers cocoa 3 tbsp to 1 tbsp oil instead of the squares. Just mix them together in the pot, then add butter, etc... - no problem. Bake and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ranwies

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bastrop, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States