Boston Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I made these into cupcakes using my debbie Meyer filled cupcake pan. They turned out awesome! I had enough custard and chocolate for 3 batches of cupcakes. The only change I made was I added 1 Tablespoon of butter to the custard along with the vanilla, as per another recipe. Everyone raved about these, they are truly a wonderful dessert.o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
it was good but definately not store bought Boston Cream....i used vanilla pudding for the center...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
The cake part is awesome, easy and well worth making! All I can say to do differently with the cake is to bring the eggs and milk to room temperature along with creaming the sugar and shortening before adding the remaining ingredients. You can also change out the shortening for butter, and that is a matter of preference. I have done both, and prefer the butter. Otherwise the cake is perfect. The first time I made the custard filling, it never set up, and I cooked it as directed. The second time I made it worked, but I had to cook it much longer than indicated 3 to 4 minutes more. The flavor is just ‘ok’ to me, and I am looking for custard to rave about. The glaze does make a hard shell, but if you have a good serrated knife to get through the glaze, you're good to go. I'm definitely keeping the cake part, but will continue to look for custard and glaze recipes. Thanks for sharing the recipe – much appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Cheated by using a box yellow cake and Irish Cream Creamer in place of milk, and used chocolate chips instead of squares. It came out devine, highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Only change I made was to use butter instead of shortening in the cake. The cake was a big hit for New Year's. I have made several different recipes over the years, and this is our favorite. As others have mentioned, use a whisk when making the puddding to smooth out any lumps that may form. I put plastic wrap on top of the pudding while it cooled to avoid a skin forming. I am not sure if this was necessary, but didn't want to take any chances. The icing turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Cake was very good and easier to make then a box mix. The filling was enough as I made it in a deep 8 inch pan, if I made the 9 inch called for in the recipe I would have made a bit more. I also used butter to make the cake instead of shortening. I made a quick ganache (melted semi-sweet chocolate and heavy cream) for the frosting. I think this cake is very easy, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
First off, I didn't make the filling because I got lazy and used vanilla pudding mix instead. But the cake (and glaze, but mostly the cake!) was very good. No complaints at all! I baked it as cupcakes; it made 11 and they baked for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobolynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Of course, Boston Cream Pie isn't pie at all but layered cake that has an egg custard center for filling. This is not a bad recipe, but you can use flour instead of corn starch for a creamier egg filling (be careful how you temper your eggs or you'll end up with scrambled eggs). You can also use "chocolate chips" for the semi-sweet chocolate as long as you watch your temperature. The cooks who substituted a box mix should be spanked. Get real and make it from scratch. It isn't that difficult. BCP was a favorite of mine growing up. Give your children those same memories, moms... and don't buy a Duncan Heinz or Betty Crocker and say its the same, cause it isn't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinemabon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I bake cakes a lot and decided to try this one out. So very disappointed in this recipe. The cake was crumbly and had a taste of cornbread! The cream filling wasn't very flavorful, and yes, I used real vanilla. Read other reviews and this seems to be a common complaint. Will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
It was a delicious cake, but I found it too moist for the job. Either way, miles above a box cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States