Boston Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Cake was very good and easier to make then a box mix. The filling was enough as I made it in a deep 8 inch pan, if I made the 9 inch called for in the recipe I would have made a bit more. I also used butter to make the cake instead of shortening. I made a quick ganache (melted semi-sweet chocolate and heavy cream) for the frosting. I think this cake is very easy, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
First off, I didn't make the filling because I got lazy and used vanilla pudding mix instead. But the cake (and glaze, but mostly the cake!) was very good. No complaints at all! I baked it as cupcakes; it made 11 and they baked for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobolynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Of course, Boston Cream Pie isn't pie at all but layered cake that has an egg custard center for filling. This is not a bad recipe, but you can use flour instead of corn starch for a creamier egg filling (be careful how you temper your eggs or you'll end up with scrambled eggs). You can also use "chocolate chips" for the semi-sweet chocolate as long as you watch your temperature. The cooks who substituted a box mix should be spanked. Get real and make it from scratch. It isn't that difficult. BCP was a favorite of mine growing up. Give your children those same memories, moms... and don't buy a Duncan Heinz or Betty Crocker and say its the same, cause it isn't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinemabon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I bake cakes a lot and decided to try this one out. So very disappointed in this recipe. The cake was crumbly and had a taste of cornbread! The cream filling wasn't very flavorful, and yes, I used real vanilla. Read other reviews and this seems to be a common complaint. Will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
It was a delicious cake, but I found it too moist for the job. Either way, miles above a box cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
excellent! huney loved it, used a yellow cake mix and made 2 9 inch cakes. followed recipe for the rest of the pie. will def make again! thanks for hte recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Maine, USA
Living In: Benton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Like another reviewer, I too used a cake mix...French vanilla flavor. I used the dental floss trick to make the layers thinner and completely flat. The filling was delicious, and I especially loved the dark chocolate glaze. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
My daughter's 18th birthday cake!! Very good; the filling was a bit runny and it browned a bit on the stovetop so I microwaved it in a glass cup and stirred in another tablespoon of cornstarch with an extra 1/4 c. milk. I also added a bit of banana extract. It turned out excellent and the amount was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This was okay...I've had better at Safeway's bakery. If you live at a high altitude, you need to find another recipe for the cake part, as I learned the hard way. Also, after you temper the yolks for the custard, it needs to be cooked longer than a minute....about three in order to set up. For the chocolate, I used way more than two tablespoons of hot water to get it to a spreadable consistency. Okay...but not worth the effort for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
My daughter saw a Boston cream pie in an add, and I wanted to show her we could make our own. Big mistake. I am really experienced at cakes, but I followed the recipe exactly and came out with a crumbly cake that I had to remove the crust from because it stuck to my well greased and floured pan, and it was thick and crusty. I put it in the freezer for 10 minutes which made it easier to split. The custard is fine, the chocolate frosting had too strong a cocoa flavor for my taste so I added a half a can of store bought chocolate icing. I was disappointed and won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States