Boston Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
add a little brown sugar to your custard and it will work out..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kel7298
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is the same recipe as in my old Betty Crocker cookbook. Excellent flavor and easy to make. The only thing I do different is add a tablespoon of butter with the vanilla once the custard is cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This review is for the cake and filling only. I used a different frosting recipe. I doubled this cake recipe to yield 2 9 inch layers, and my only change was adding 1 cup of sour cream and only using 1/2 cup milk (for TWO layers, remember). This made the cake fluffier and more moist...really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Didn't care for the icing. Will find a different recipe for that next time but the cake was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Floydada, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
i owed a boston cream pie to our pastor for doing us a favor. he grew up in boston and it is his fave dessert. i've never had a boston cream pie b4, so i didnt know what to expect. i messed up on the cake the first time by not mixing it enough. second time around turned out great! i personally didnt find it the best, but everyone else loved it! it was so rich and sweet! our pastor loved evry bite! thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda and Destiny
Living In: Camp Verde, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I made these into cupcakes using my debbie Meyer filled cupcake pan. They turned out awesome! I had enough custard and chocolate for 3 batches of cupcakes. The only change I made was I added 1 Tablespoon of butter to the custard along with the vanilla, as per another recipe. Everyone raved about these, they are truly a wonderful dessert.o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
it was good but definately not store bought Boston Cream....i used vanilla pudding for the center...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
The cake part is awesome, easy and well worth making! All I can say to do differently with the cake is to bring the eggs and milk to room temperature along with creaming the sugar and shortening before adding the remaining ingredients. You can also change out the shortening for butter, and that is a matter of preference. I have done both, and prefer the butter. Otherwise the cake is perfect. The first time I made the custard filling, it never set up, and I cooked it as directed. The second time I made it worked, but I had to cook it much longer than indicated 3 to 4 minutes more. The flavor is just ‘ok’ to me, and I am looking for custard to rave about. The glaze does make a hard shell, but if you have a good serrated knife to get through the glaze, you're good to go. I'm definitely keeping the cake part, but will continue to look for custard and glaze recipes. Thanks for sharing the recipe – much appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Cheated by using a box yellow cake and Irish Cream Creamer in place of milk, and used chocolate chips instead of squares. It came out devine, highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Only change I made was to use butter instead of shortening in the cake. The cake was a big hit for New Year's. I have made several different recipes over the years, and this is our favorite. As others have mentioned, use a whisk when making the puddding to smooth out any lumps that may form. I put plastic wrap on top of the pudding while it cooled to avoid a skin forming. I am not sure if this was necessary, but didn't want to take any chances. The icing turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States