Boston Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Joe
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Great recipe, the cake turned out fine, I wish the ingredients were more clearly marked though, I managed to connect the dots, mine would have turned out alot better if I made more icing, I made a fondant instead of a glaze, then used white royal icing for contrast details. I also baked two cakes instead of using one and cutting it in half, I prefer more cake than custard. If only one of my cake pans didn't stick on the bottom and decimate the cake, I also should have made more fondant to cover it rather than make curtains around it. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I used a box cake mix and frosting from the store because I was in a hurry so only commenting on the custard (first try at making custard.) Thought that 2 teaspoons of vanilla in the custard was way too much and after I chilled it and tasted, decided to try it again. On second try used only 1/4 teaspoon Rodelle vanilla and a tablespoon of butter at the end in the custard and came out great. I used a whisk to stir the custard as it cooked and put in the egg yolks with the milk. Covered with plastic wrap and set in the snow outside to cool. I didn't go by time when cooking but paid attention to the consistency to decide when to remove from the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This was very good. I followed the directions exactly (especially when it came to making the frosting) and it was delicious. My husband and I were quite surprised with how light it was with the flavor being so great. I will definitely keep this one for the recipe books and will be a staple going forward. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
easy and delicious. a great crowd pleaser. Loved it . Cant say more then that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Very time-consuming recipe. Lots of dirty dishes and time for a mediocre result. The filling and the frosting were good, but the cake was too crumbly and dry for me. Baked it exactly 30 minutes, cooled in pan 10 min., removed to rack to finish cooling and it crumbled terribly when I cut it. Even the top split! I can't help but think a boxed cake would have been better than that one. Would use the filling and frosting recipes again, but would not make this complete recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
add a little brown sugar to your custard and it will work out..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kel7298
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is the same recipe as in my old Betty Crocker cookbook. Excellent flavor and easy to make. The only thing I do different is add a tablespoon of butter with the vanilla once the custard is cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This review is for the cake and filling only. I used a different frosting recipe. I doubled this cake recipe to yield 2 9 inch layers, and my only change was adding 1 cup of sour cream and only using 1/2 cup milk (for TWO layers, remember). This made the cake fluffier and more moist...really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Didn't care for the icing. Will find a different recipe for that next time but the cake was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Floydada, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
i owed a boston cream pie to our pastor for doing us a favor. he grew up in boston and it is his fave dessert. i've never had a boston cream pie b4, so i didnt know what to expect. i messed up on the cake the first time by not mixing it enough. second time around turned out great! i personally didnt find it the best, but everyone else loved it! it was so rich and sweet! our pastor loved evry bite! thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda and Destiny
Living In: Camp Verde, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States