Boston Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
My husband loved this recipe! I changed it slightly by using half banana extract and half vanilla for the custard. I thought the banana was a little strong, but my husband said he could hardly tast it. I have been told that my taste buds are very sensitive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
Great if you have the time and some skill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
I made this Boston Cream Pie recipe that my mother requested for her birthday. I was looking for it in my cookbooks till I found this site. I made it exactly as it said. This recipe was just what I was looking for. It was fabulous! Slicing the cake was the hard part, was a little difficult. But other than that it was very tasteful. My brother thought I bought it from a bakery! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
My husband loves Boston Cream Pie and he really enjoyed this one. I tried experimenting a bit. I used cake flour, 3 egg whites, and light margarine for the cake. I did not have a 9-inch pan so I put it in two 8-inch pans. I baked it for less time. I used 3 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips w/2 tbls. butter and 1/2c confectioners' sugar along w/vanilla and some water. The cake came out really thin and dense. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2000
It was delicious, but a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2000
I made this cake for my dad's birthday, and we loved it! I cheated....I used a boxed cake mix (butter flavored yellow), but it turned out beautifully. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2000
One of my favorite of the Boston Cream Pie recipes because it calls for one pan. Though splitting a single cake may be challenging for some, it sure cuts down on clean-up after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
My family fought over the last piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2000
Kids love the cake and custard. but the chocolate glaze probably needs to be thinned out a little more. Also, don't bake over 35 min. even if toothpick is not perfectly clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-139 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States