Boston Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
The chocolate was a bit overwhelming for my taste, but the cake and custard recipes were great. I would probably make more custard for a nice thick layer in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
This was really good. I make just a few changes: I doubled the chocolate glaze because I like a thick layer of chocolate, I folded 4 oz of thawed frozen whipped topping into the cream filling after it had cooled completely--that created a fluffy cream center that was just devine! Made this for the in-laws, they liked it!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
My first Boston Cream Pie recipe. I found it to be very good. It was thinner than expected, but light and sweet without overwhelming. When making the cream filling, to prevent lumps from the cornstarch, I dissolved the cornstarch completely with the milk cold in the saucepan first. Then I added the other ingredients and turned on the heat. For the glaze, I doubled the chocolate and butter since I prefer a richer chocolatey taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I've made this a couple of times (using cake mixes, instead of the cake recipie provided. It came out really well, except the first time my custard was a bit lumpy. The second time it was excellent. It's good enough that I'm planning on making it for thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
I added a shot (1oz) of Irish Cream to the milk amounts of the custard and the cake. Fantastic taste! Also, I cheated and used canned frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
Perfect Perfect Perfect. The exact recipe I was looking for!! Was not any trouble at all!! I did whisk the custard instead of stir it, and also used semisweet chocolate instead of unsweetened. The cake is not hard to make- and I would definitely do that instead of buy a yellow box cake, I just don't think it would be the same. I had about 10 different people try it and they loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
I took a shortcut and used a yellow boxed cake mix, but this was devine. The custard filling and chocolate glaze were the best and taste just like I had gotten it from a bakery. I used a wire wisk to continuously stir the custard and it came out lump free. I could use a little help on cutting the cake in half, but overall, this was an excellent recipe and I will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I made this today as a birthday cake and was very pleased about the results. I used a golden yellow cake mix (as I can't seem to get my homemade cakes that light yet) but followed the directions for the filling and glaze. It had just the right amount of sweetness, the richness of the chocolate just balancing the custard. I used about a quarter cup of chocolate chips in the glaze and microwaved the chips and the butter until melted then added the sugar, vanilla and water until I got the right consistency. All of the birthday party guests had great things to say! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
This cake was very good. I followed the recipe closely and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
It tastes really good. But there was something missing to the taste. I am very fussy about Boston Cream Pie. My family loved it.So I will use this recipe again but will experiment to get the exact taste I'm looking for. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Sumner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States