Boston Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
THE CAKE CAME OUT GREAT. VERY EASY. I HAVE READ A FEW OF THE REVIEWS, AND ONE HAD SAID THAT THE CUSTARD WAS LUMPY. THE ONLY LUMPS I GOT WERE FROM THE SIDES OF THE PAN WHEN I STIRRED THEM IN. I HAD USED A LARGE SERATED KNIFE TO SPLIT THE CAKE AND IT CAME OUT FINE. I HAD ALSO USED BAKING POWDER INSTEAD OF THE BLOCKS. 3T OF POWDER AND 1T OF OIL EQUALS 1 1oz BLOCK CHOCOLATE. I THOUGHT THERE WAS ENOUGH GLAZE. I ALSO QUARTERED BANANAS THEN SLICED THEM AND PUT THEM ON TOP OF THE CUSTARD IN THE MIDDLE. I TOSSED THEM CAREFULLY WITH JUST ENOUGH LEMON JUICE, ABOUT 2t SO THEY DIDNT TURN BROWN. THIS WAS A GREAT ADDITION. I HOPE THIS HELPS AND ENCOURAGES YOU. BAKE ON GIRLS!! GOD HAS A WONDERFUL PLAN FOR EACH OF YOUR LIVES. HE CREATED YOU. HE LOVES YOU. ASK HIM TO REVEAL HIMSELF TO YOU, AND I PROMISE YOU HE WILL. START LOOKING FOR HIM IN EVERYTHING! HE IS THERE. STAND ON HIS PROMISES IN HIS WORD, AND BE ENCOURAGED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
It was a diaster splitting the cake. I tried dental floss. I even made a second cake and tried again. I think next time I will read the reviews first. Also I think make a double batch for the cake so you have 2 layers and don't have to split. Also need to double the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Here's a trick I learned a couple of years ago about splitting the cake. Instead of using a knife to cut the cake, you can use dental floss. Just use a long piece of floss to line up the floss with center height of the cake, all the way around the edge. When the floss is all lined up, loop the ends over each other and pull through. This will give one perfect slice through the cake two make two thin cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMDMD

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This was awful...cake was dry, cream filling was runny, and glaze too sweet. Followed recipe exactly, the only thing I did different was divide the batter and bake in two pans for about 22 minutes so I wouldn't have to cut the cake in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
Wow, the chocolate glaze on this was fabulous. The recipe didn't make as much as we'd like, so I went back and made a second batch and poured that over the top of the cake. Delicious and just the right amount for us. I used a boxed Duncan Hines Yellow Cake Mix as a shortcut, and no one could tell the difference. Also just made it into two layers rather than attempting to split the layers which can be tedious. It turned out great. Made this for my brother's birthday party, and it was a hit. The only thing I would change is to add a bit more vanilla to the custard - didn't have much flavor to us, but it was a nice consistency. I dissolved the corn starch in the milk before putting it over the heat as others have recommended - no lumps. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
Very good recipe, I loved it. It is a bit challenging to slice the cake through because knife just wants to go aslant:-) I recommend to notch the side of the cake with serrated knife about 1" deep all the way around to make sure the cut is clean and precise and then cut through. Also, it was good idea as others here recommended, to dissolve starch in milk before heating it and use the whisk, this way custard comes out very smooth and not lumpy. Delicious cake, hubby loved it, I'll make it again and recommend everyone to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
I was very pleased with the outcome of this recipe. I needed more chocolate to coat the cake, so I doubled the chocolate coating part. The cream turned out great, and the cakes were light, fluffy, and delicious. My only complaint is that it took so long to make and was eaten up so fast! Very impressive looking and delicious, will make it for a holiday/family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
This is an old Better Crocker recipe. My family loves it, and I have made it countless times. The cake is very moist, the filling delicious and vanilla, and the glaze very chocolatey! Sometimes I use two egg whites in the cake and reserve the yolks for the filling. Use a large serrated knife to separate the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
The chocolate was a bit overwhelming for my taste, but the cake and custard recipes were great. I would probably make more custard for a nice thick layer in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
This was really good. I make just a few changes: I doubled the chocolate glaze because I like a thick layer of chocolate, I folded 4 oz of thawed frozen whipped topping into the cream filling after it had cooled completely--that created a fluffy cream center that was just devine! Made this for the in-laws, they liked it!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States