Boston Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I was unimpressed with this recipe. Even after refrigeration the custard never set properly. The flavor was no better than a boring grocery store version. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This was delicious! I used parchment paper to line the bottom of the cake pan and let the pan cool before attempting to remove the cake. Slicing the cake in two was alot easier than I expected. I also found Robin Gail's advice (in a previous review) about cooking the filling very helpful. Very tasty - I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pepperell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Strong, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I attempted to make the cake part twice. First time it stuck to the pan. The second time i got it out. However the cake seemed too flat to split in half. I would sugguest making the cake in 2 separate pans. I tasted the cake from the first one I made and thought it was too sweet. The custard part got lumpy after it cooled. I was making this cake for my fathers birthday and after the problems I was having I gave up ended up buying one instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
My mom loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
I wasn't crazy about the cake. I used vanilla pudding instead of the custard. It stuck to the pan. I saw where someone recommended using parchment paper on the bottom of the pan. The last time I made custard it failed. My mother would put whipped topping on the cake before topping with glaze, the cake was so yummy. Sometimes she added nuts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOLA Deb
Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
After removing the cake from oven let it cool 10 minutes in the pan before loosening it and then very gingerly turning it over onto the cooling rack. I had to re-bake the cake because on my first try it fell completely apart when I tried to remove it from the pan immediately after I'd baked it. I made about 1/4 more icing than the recipe stated but I would recommend sticking with the amount in the recipe as I thought that the extra chocolate icing overwhelmed the other flavors in the cake. Though it was a lot of work, it was delicious, and it tasted even better after being in the fridge a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Excellent Cake. I always mix sugar and cornstarch first until it is a fine powder (for any recipe). Then I stired in the milk with no problem with lumps. I always use a rubber spatula with a flat bottom to mix any kind of custard/pudding. This keeps custard from forming lumps too. I cheated by using box cake mix too, but followed directions exactly for the cream. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gail

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
This cake was very acceptable. It was easy to make and the trick to cutting the cake is to use a long sharp serrated knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARTHECOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Mill Cove, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
I baked the cake in two separate pans rather than one. Both of the layers stuck to the pans even though I had sprayed the pans with Pam. The filling started to stick to the saucepan even though I had turned the heat down to low and constantly stirred. I had to stop cooking it before the time was up because it developed small brown lumps. Even though my cake resembled the San Andreas Fault, it tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
Overall, not bad. I didn't like the cake part as much. I've only ever made two yellow cakes from scratch, and so far, prefer the boxed yellow. I know...weird. The custard and glaze were awesome, though, but I don't think I'd make this again, only because it's entirely too much work for average results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States