Boston Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I have been looking for the perfect Boston Cream Pie recipe (a childhood favorite of my husbands) for years. Many cakes are dry or tasteless or the filling is pasty. but- WE LOVED THIS RECIPE! The cake was tender and the filling was light. Add 3 TB. butter to the filling for more flavor. Parchment paper is a must. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SharFras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hager City, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I followed the recipe to the letter, and it turned out good. My only problem was the custard. I could hardly taste it. I would've liked it to stand out more. Next time I will do as someone else suggested, and put a little Irish Cream in it. The glaze was wonderful though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mancelona, Michigan, USA
Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Perfect! I followed the directions exactly and my wife and I both thought it was one of the best cakes we've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This was ok for us. The custard didn't have the flavor I was hoping for, and for all the work, I think I'll probably stick to the boston cream pie box mix that the super market sells. It's a zillion times easier and has better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreeAnn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Lovely recipe! Easy enough for a novice to make a decedant treat. I was particularly fond of the icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I made this for Christmas and it was so good! For the cake: make sure you beat the batter the full 3 minutes and use parchment-no problems at all. For the filling: use the microwave method-just stir stop and stir every 30 seconds until thick (mine took 5½ minutes). For the frosting: be sure to use standard chocolate squares or cocoa-I used chocolate from France and realized after that it didn't have the same fat content so it siezed on me. I just added 1T of shortning and rescued it. It was well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Amazing!! My family and I loved it. After reading some other reviews, I was sure to put some parchment on the bottom of the cake pan. It didn't stick at all and I had no problem splitting it in 2 like many other people did. You just have to be sure the cake is cooled completly before splitting it or else it really is difficult. I made the custard earlier in the day, cooled it, and then refrigerated it for a few hours. It set up perfectly. I also thought the glaze was great. Mine took a little more than 2 T water to make it the right consistancy. This recipe is a bit of a process, but definitly worth it. However, I wouldn't suggest making this if you are a first time baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I only needed the cream (or i like to call it custard) part of this recipe for a 3 layered cake my mama makes. The constant stiring gave my arm a good work out. I was so happy that it didnt stick to the bottom of the pan as it was boiling. I used a soft rubber spatular to stir as another review sugested and it worked like a charm. It is not a sweet recipe which i think is just right, it is best to leave the sweet part to the actual sponge cake is can go along with. You can also put it in individual cups once cooked let cool and serve with caramel sauce. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desi's Delectables

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I was unimpressed with this recipe. Even after refrigeration the custard never set properly. The flavor was no better than a boring grocery store version. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States