Boston Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ren
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Tastes just as expected. Delicious and easy to make. :}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
WOW - This recipe is definitely a keeper! The only thing I did differently was that I used two 8" pans so that I didn't have to try to cut the cake evenly for layering. Of course it didn't take as long to bake (I think 20-25 minutes instead). I love making cakes from scratch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Stevens Clark
Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
The custard filling is perfect as is! Great in the cake or in a bowl with just a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This tastes delicious. I'm docking a star because this cake should really be baked with a lining of parchment. It totally fell apart when I tried to take it out. Ugh. But I managed to salvage it and put it all together. Very delicious cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Loved the cake and the custard. Might make the chocolate a little thinner next time. Followed one reviewer who suggested upping the serving size of the cake to 18 and dividing the batter between two 9" pans. Used insulating strips to keep them from humping in the middle. ***Remember to line the pans with parchment. Mine stuck horribly. The cake wasn't so pretty because of that, but it sure was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
The cake portion tasted good, but did not rise as much as I would like. I would also double the filling. Overall, I did enjoy the Boston Cream Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSDPT
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
The cake was a buttery yellow; I did have to use butter vs. shortening. I thought it was delicious. The pastry cream was good as well, but I did a second trial if another recipe that I thought was better. The ganache was not good. Taste way too much like powdered sugar. Next time I would just buy it for the amount if work it took to just be ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joe
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Great recipe, the cake turned out fine, I wish the ingredients were more clearly marked though, I managed to connect the dots, mine would have turned out alot better if I made more icing, I made a fondant instead of a glaze, then used white royal icing for contrast details. I also baked two cakes instead of using one and cutting it in half, I prefer more cake than custard. If only one of my cake pans didn't stick on the bottom and decimate the cake, I also should have made more fondant to cover it rather than make curtains around it. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I used a box cake mix and frosting from the store because I was in a hurry so only commenting on the custard (first try at making custard.) Thought that 2 teaspoons of vanilla in the custard was way too much and after I chilled it and tasted, decided to try it again. On second try used only 1/4 teaspoon Rodelle vanilla and a tablespoon of butter at the end in the custard and came out great. I used a whisk to stir the custard as it cooked and put in the egg yolks with the milk. Covered with plastic wrap and set in the snow outside to cool. I didn't go by time when cooking but paid attention to the consistency to decide when to remove from the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This was very good. I followed the directions exactly (especially when it came to making the frosting) and it was delicious. My husband and I were quite surprised with how light it was with the flavor being so great. I will definitely keep this one for the recipe books and will be a staple going forward. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States