Boston Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Does anybody know how long it takes to make this recipe?????????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dhruv Dhall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I have made this recipe many times and have never had any of the problems that I have read in some of the reviews. I am not a professional cook. Maybe those who complained about the cake being too dry did not follow the recipe and they thought they did. Same with the custard. One time I tried a box mix for the cake to save time, but the texture was all wrong. My thought is that some of these folks maynot have eaten a Boston Cream Pie before and think that the recipe is bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This cake was truly amazing!!! Easy to follow instruction and taste, texture was fantastic. It was a hit with the birthday guy and my kids. The only thing I did not like was cleaning up the mess (ie dishes) lol Fantastic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Guynup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I made this using a boxed yellow cake mix. It came our great! The custard is really tasty and the chocolate is a generous amount to really coat the cake. The only thing I'd do differently is I'd split the layers and have 3 layers instead of 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I followed the recipe and made everything from scratch. The only thing I did differently was use more chocolate and a little more butter for the frosting. And I did need to refrigerate the cream to get it to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I followed this recipe to the T, and it was dry and flavorless, as others said. I made a second one, and went to my old Joy of Cooking for the Golden Cake and custard filling recipes. I still used this recipe for the chocolate icing, and it was perfect. But this cake recipe just didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
The cake was a bit on the dry side, the custard part had little taste, and there wasn't enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Cake was dry, the custard tasted like glue. I improperly measured the chocolate, so I would give the icing another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Tasted more like a thick, dense pancake. My son did say after a few days of sitting in the fridge it had the taste of pound cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I had really high hopes for this recipe, but the cake portion of turned out too dry perhaps I overcooked it so that could, and there ratio of cake to custard was off. You would have needed to increase the amount of custard. The chocolate glaze, however, was delicious. It wasn't a bad recipe, but I feel as though it needed to be tweaked a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States