Boston Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
After reading reviews of all recipes for this cake I chose this one as I am not an experienced cook. I used a Duncan Hines box yellow cake. I was not successful making the custard - it was lumpy and made very little, but it had good flavor so I mixed in a box of vanilla pudding made with 1 1/4 cups of milk (that I had pre-made for back-up). This smoothed the custard, and gave me the quanity I was looking for. I followed the glaze directions exactly and everyone loved this cake (I made it for my husband's birthday dinner party). When I make it again (and I definitely will), I will follow the suggestion of one reviewer and cut the two cakes in half giving 4 layers. I will double the custard and the glaze. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Boston cream pie is my favorite and I must admit, as another member did, that this was very dry and flavorless.I was very disappointed. Will keep looking .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I used a yellow cake mix. This turned out really well. The filling was the best. I would so make this another time it was wonderfull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I also cheated with cake mix LOL. I had some problems with the other parts of this recipe that more experienced cooks perhaps avoided. The filling went wrong somewhere around the "whisk in the 2 eggs" part, that apparently wasn't enough to completely mix all the ingredients although it looked uniform; if I was to do it over again I'd beat the eggs with the salt until completely homogenized before adding to the other ingredients. I had to bail out to boxed pudding. The ganache (icing) went wrong at the add 1/4 cup conf. sugar and beat vigorously part; this resulted in a somewhat lumpy and grainy texture that no amount of beating would fix. If I was to do it over I'd maybe sift it in a little at a time or I'm told that corn syrup is good for this kind of icing. The flavor was great though, dark and rich but sweet enough. All in all people enjoyed it and I'll probably try it again, watch out for those tricky spots though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I took the advice of fellow reviewers and use boxed yellow cake...this pie turned out fantastic!! I prepared it for Turkey Day and had rave reviews from the parents, husband, and in-laws! I followed the cream and icing as stated on this recipe and couldn't have been happier with the turn out!! Thanks for an easy, yummy, recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This review is for the frosting only. Like others, I cheated and used a cake mix and jello pudding as filling. But the frosting came out beautifully! It was fortunate that I actually had the semisweet baking squares. I wonder how it would turn out if you had to sub chocolate chips? I didn't have any cream so I used whole milk instead and it worked just fine. So easy and so fancy looking with the smooth frosting. Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This was the dryest cake I have ever eaten. I should have taken the other rater's advice and substituted a box cake. Also, the filling is flavorless. The icing was the only part that was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
I made this to take to work as a going away treat for a friend moving to Boston. I cheated and made a yellow cake mix in a sheet cake pan, turned it out, and (once it cooled) cut it in half with a piece of string down the center. I then put the bottom half back in (carefully!) and made this cream recipe, I had to quadruple it to get enough, but it was very good. I then put the top half of the cake on, and made a triple batch of this glaze and poured it on top. I had to add a little extra powdered sugar though to cut the tart semisweet taste. After the glaze hardened in the fridge I took some of the custard/filling I had saved, put it in a baggie, kneaded it with my hands, snipped off a corner and then drizzled it over the top of the cake to make it prettier. The end result, it was delicious and beautiful! Tasted just like from a restaurant only it served way more people. A coworker loved the custard filling so much, she ate four pieces (ha ha!) Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
This cake was delicious! I must admit that I made the process easier by bypassing the "cake from scratch" part and substituted a Duncan Hines Yellow cake mix instead ... much easier and I'm sure just as yummy. I did have trouble trying to figure out what "light cream" was. Didn't have anything like that in my grocery store ... I ended up buying something called "table cream" which turns out to be light cream with some sodium. I ommited the pinch of salt for the filling since cream already had. Otherwise, the icing was superb and it was easy to put together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
My family says this is the best cake they have ever eaten! Instead of making the cakes by scratch I cheated and used box cake mix. I also cut each layer in two so there are 4 layers of cake and 3 layers of custard. Marvelous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States