Boston Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Tasted great but I will add, and this may seem like a given for some people, PLEASE LET THE FROSTING COOL SIGNIFICANTLY before frosting your cake. It tasted delicious but fell apart in a few places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sami Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I wanted to made this cake for my husband's birthday, it's one of his favorite desserts. However, this recipe made enough batter to barely fill one 9" cake pan, never mind two! So I just made the one cake and sliced it in half. I don't know if anyone else had this issue. It was obvious by the time I got the batter all mixed up that it wasn't going to fill two 9" pans. Therefore, I guess you would double it! Also, I have Bird's Custard Powder in my pantry and this is a much easier way. Bird's is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I have to agree with other reviewers. The cake is dry. I would sub another yellow cake recipe or even a box cake and follow as written otherwise to get a better result. I was disappointed with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I made this cake to celebrate my first wedding anniversary and me and my husband both loved it! I read the previous reviews for this dessert and since everyone who actually made the cake said it didn't turn out well, I made a different cake from a recipe book. (also, boston cream pie is usually a 1 layer cake cut in half, not a two layer cake, it would make it too thick I'd think) Anyway, the custard turned out very well. It had a very mild flavor to it and wasn't too sweet like some puddings. I thought it tasted great with the chocolate. I actually messed up the glaze and only put in half as much sugar as it called for but it ended up turning out just fine, and more glaze like than this picture indicates. I think I'll do it that way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harmonica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I use a box yellow cake mix as suggested, triple the filling, and double the icing for a 9x13 sheet cake. I did not have any problems making the filling and icing. I love this cake so much I make it for my own birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This was excellent! I, like others, used a cake mix (Pilsbury Plus Butter Yellow Cake Mix..which was fantastic). The only change I made was that I added 3 drops of Almond Extract to the filling. I will make this recipe over and over again. JUST MARVELOUS! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Not too impressed. I followed the recipe to a T, the custard was absolutely flavorless, texture was fine, just flavorless. Everything else was average too. And for all the work that it was to make this all from scratch, definately not going to make again. My husband ate the whole thing..but he eats everything haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WonderMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I,too, used a box cake mix. The custard was lumpy and had only a mild custard flavor. The icing was thin and lumpy despite my sifting it into the melted chocolate. The flavor was good. I might try it one more time using a double boiler to make the custard which is the way I always make it and never fail. I don't know how to "fix" the chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
The cake and glaze were excellent. The custard was not good at all though. Mine was lumpy and flavorless even after I added extra vanilla. Luckily I had a vanilla pudding in the pantry so like other reviewers I just used that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Substitute for light cream - 1 Tbs butter plus enough milk to make 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States