Boston Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This cake was tough and dry. The chocolate and cream are good but not enough to compensate for the dry cake. If you are looking to make Boston Cream Pie from scratch, use a different yellow cake recipe and you will enjoy it much more, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Next time I will double the recipe and triple the amount of custard - was not enough. Cake was dry so I might poke holes in cake and let hot custard fall through, then add custard on top of that. The cakes were too low therefore I will stack 4 cakes with extra filling. I thought the filling was delicious although mine was runnier than shown on picture. I will also double the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
The custard turned out kind of lumpy, I think next time I'll have to sift the cornstarch in. But the taste of it was very good. The chocloate topping was good as well and I used chocolate chips instead of the semisweet blocks without any issues. The cake itself was very dry. I'm going to try making a Boston Cream Pie again, but I think I'll try one of the other recipes on here. The "Boston Cream Pie II" is slightly different with shortening in the cake, which may help with making the cake more moist. Overall the recipe wasn't bad, but the cake was just way too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvToBake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I decided to use this recipe when making my adult daughter a birthday cake. Custard filling and chocolate icing were both very good although the cake itself was a disappointment and was very dry. I added sliced bananas on top of the custard to add a little more flavor which worked well with the custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I used a yellow cake mix, but made the custard filling and the frosting per directions in recipe and it was wonderful! Next time, I'll double up on the custard and the frosting or just make the cake layers thinner, but this cake tasted just what I was craving. I will be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Caywood Nehmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Great recipe - I found that the recipe for the cake didn't make enough for two 9" cakes... and doubling the recipe made two really thick ones (and the batter was REALLY thick). But despite this, it turned out really good. This was a special request from my husband for his birthday, and he loved it. I didn't find the cake dry at all, the custard turned out well, and the icing was great. Now, if only the recipe actually made enough batter for two smaller cakes, that would be great. :) I think I'll make this one again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Tasty but not as impressive as I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocksteady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
The cake was good but the cream filling is amazing I use it for all my recipe's the have any custured filling in them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Dawn Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
i actually tasted this and it was completely out of this world. not too sweet. i thought it was excellent. The perfect bite to the end of my day. Thanks Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I was really craving this dessert for some reason. And, I liked that the entire cake was made from scratch, so I decided to try it. I really liked the taste of the filling and the chocolate topping. The cake I thought didn't have a lot of flavor. I thought that I might make again in the future and make a homemade sponge cake keeping everything else the same. But, by the next day the cake tasted better. It may have been more dense to hold the cream. I wasn't sure what light cream was, so I used heavy cream I had in the fridge and it worked fine. Some people mentioned that they thought the pudding was lumpy, but mine turned out alright. I noticed it was actually a pastry cream which is thicker and less smooth anyway. If it wasn't I would have just ran it through a sieve. I measured out 3 oz of semi-sweet choc. chips on my kitchen scale and it came out to be 1/3 of a cup packed very tightly. The cake only fills about 1" of both pans before baked, but is a good thickness. I cooked everything on low (3) and had no problems. I made a design on top after a Boston Cream Pie recipe on another site. I enjoyed trying the recipe. Cake taste better the next day, be patient. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States