Boston Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2015
Very good. I kind of made my own twist to this by adding a cup of milk with heavy cream and a spoon of cornstarch to the chocolate frosting to make it a pudding in order to make an extra level of filling. For those that said the cake was dry - I doubt you followed the recipe, there was nothing dry about the cake. You had to cream the butter and sugar until fluffy and I think that's where many people go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iris Chisolm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by James Jimbob Cross
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Beautiful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Jimbob Cross

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I have made this recipe many times and have never had any of the problems that I have read in some of the reviews. I am not a professional cook. Maybe those who complained about the cake being too dry did not follow the recipe and they thought they did. Same with the custard. One time I tried a box mix for the cake to save time, but the texture was all wrong. My thought is that some of these folks maynot have eaten a Boston Cream Pie before and think that the recipe is bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This cake was truly amazing!!! Easy to follow instruction and taste, texture was fantastic. It was a hit with the birthday guy and my kids. The only thing I did not like was cleaning up the mess (ie dishes) lol Fantastic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Guynup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I made this using a boxed yellow cake mix. It came our great! The custard is really tasty and the chocolate is a generous amount to really coat the cake. The only thing I'd do differently is I'd split the layers and have 3 layers instead of 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I followed the recipe and made everything from scratch. The only thing I did differently was use more chocolate and a little more butter for the frosting. And I did need to refrigerate the cream to get it to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I followed this recipe to the T, and it was dry and flavorless, as others said. I made a second one, and went to my old Joy of Cooking for the Golden Cake and custard filling recipes. I still used this recipe for the chocolate icing, and it was perfect. But this cake recipe just didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
The cake was a bit on the dry side, the custard part had little taste, and there wasn't enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Cake was dry, the custard tasted like glue. I improperly measured the chocolate, so I would give the icing another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Tasted more like a thick, dense pancake. My son did say after a few days of sitting in the fridge it had the taste of pound cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States