Boston Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This cake was truly amazing!!! Easy to follow instruction and taste, texture was fantastic. It was a hit with the birthday guy and my kids. The only thing I did not like was cleaning up the mess (ie dishes) lol Fantastic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Guynup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I made this using a boxed yellow cake mix. It came our great! The custard is really tasty and the chocolate is a generous amount to really coat the cake. The only thing I'd do differently is I'd split the layers and have 3 layers instead of 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I followed the recipe and made everything from scratch. The only thing I did differently was use more chocolate and a little more butter for the frosting. And I did need to refrigerate the cream to get it to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I followed this recipe to the T, and it was dry and flavorless, as others said. I made a second one, and went to my old Joy of Cooking for the Golden Cake and custard filling recipes. I still used this recipe for the chocolate icing, and it was perfect. But this cake recipe just didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
The cake was a bit on the dry side, the custard part had little taste, and there wasn't enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Cake was dry, the custard tasted like glue. I improperly measured the chocolate, so I would give the icing another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Tasted more like a thick, dense pancake. My son did say after a few days of sitting in the fridge it had the taste of pound cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I had really high hopes for this recipe, but the cake portion of turned out too dry perhaps I overcooked it so that could, and there ratio of cake to custard was off. You would have needed to increase the amount of custard. The chocolate glaze, however, was delicious. It wasn't a bad recipe, but I feel as though it needed to be tweaked a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I made this for my mom's birthday by request, and this cake all but flew off the plate and everyone seemed to love it. I did have some problems with getting the chocolate sauce to thicken like I wanted, but I ended up chilling the sauce overnight and then microwaving it for a minute or so he next morning. This seemed to fix the problem, and it drizzled and dripped beautifully. This was my first time making a Boston Creme Pie, but I will be keeping this recipe to make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
this is delicious with fresh blueberries sprinkled on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States