Boston Cream Dessert Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I am giving only 4 stars because although these taste wonderful the resulting dessert is not like Boston Cream Pie. They are more of a vanilla flavored cheese cake with chocolate topping. I followed the recipe to the tee, so it is not that I altered it in any way. I was just disappointed that they were not what I'd expected, as I love Boston Cream Pie. Boston Cream Pie does not contain any cream cheese, which should have given me a huge clue that these would not taste like it. One of the reviewers posted that these do taste like Boston Cream Pie so I took a chance. I will make these again, as they are easy to make and do have a great flavor, especially if you are a cheese cake fan, which I am. These would make a great addition to a buffet or appetizer type meal since they are individual servings, easy to handle and eat. But I do think the name of the recipe should be changed to a more appropriate one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I have a diabetic husband and to reduce sugar and fat use fat free cream cheese and sour cream and use sugar free pudding. Pillsbury also makes a reduced sugar frosting. This is my recipe that made it as a finalist in Betty Crockers Mix It Up With Betty Cookie Contest. They are very yummy and don't last long in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Made this for Superbowl party and everyone loved them. Did get a hint to use graham cracker for the bottom instead of sugar cookies. But a great simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Although I didn't think it tasted like Boston Cream Pie, it was delicious! My family loved it! Once mine cooled, it did sink in the middle...any ideas as to what I did wrong?? J.B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookiemonster
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This was scrumptious! The closest thing I've ever made to a REAL cheese cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas City, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
this is a great dessert.. I followed the recipe except I made it in a 11 x 13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslee123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
These were good and pretty cute. I removed the cupcake wrapper before serving. I used fat free cream cheese and sour cream and they were still very rich. The only thing I may change next time is using something different in place of the canned frosting like maybe a ganache or something. Not only do I think it would improve the taste, my frosting kind of got runny after sitting in the fridge. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Not quite what I was expecting. These were OK, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Made the recipe exactly as it's printed and it turned out great! Very easy and very good. They were a big hit at the super bowl party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Tasted good, but not quite what I thought they would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States