Boston Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2000
This was just the quick, easy recipe I was searching for! The perfect recipe for the real world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I've been making this for 20+yrs.My mother-in-law used to buy the packaged version of this.It inspired me to create my own version as you never seem to get enough filling or frosting in the package.I bake a yellow cake cake as directed on the package in 2 round pans and only use one for this recipe(my boys aren't pudding lovers so I frost the remaining cake with the remaining frosting)I have found that using both cakes makes it too top heavy and squishes the filling out.For the filling I use Jello brand Vanilla pudding 153g size(6 Serv)with 2 1/4 cups milk and 1/2 tsp vanilla.I have used store brands but they always seem to taste like the packaging.I only buy skim milk so I mix 2c milk and 1/4c cream to make it creamier.Skim works but if you are going to eat cake............. I use approx. 2/3 on the tub of frosting.Careful not to heat for too long or it will end up pooling on the platter.I recently made this for a large group.I rented a large pan and tripled the recipe.It was a challenge to assemble but well worth the effort.It was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
Thought it was great and so quick and easy, especially since I keep these ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was great! And easy. I also tried the opposite, chocolate cake with vanilla pudding and vanilla frosting. It was also really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
Very good but messy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindi Lou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
This is a great recipe. Makes for a fast, delicious, even classy dessert. It looks beautiful and tastes great. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
My son loves boston cream pie so I tried this cake for his birthday. It was great. I used less milk in the pudding (1c.) might try 1&1/2c. next time. Chilled the pudding first and the cakes before putting together. I also sliced the rounded top off the bottom cake so pudding would sit nicely. French vanilla instant pudding gives it the custard effect. Extremely easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
WOW!!!! THIS CAKE WAS AWESOME!!!!!! IT was just Devoured!!! Using one cup of milk in pudding is CRUICIAL! As is letting the pudding and cake cool completely. The pudding turns stiff, kinda like Mousse or Flan. That makes it PERFECT for spreading between layers. I LOVED THIS CAKE!!! THANKS!! New Family Fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This recipe was a great hit. When I was leveling off the bottom cake, my husband asked me to carve out some so I could fit more pudding inside. I did, and it was really yummy, the only thing I would suggest is to make sure not to carve to close to the edges so the outside 'wall' doesn't break and the pudding leak out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Not only is this recipe easy - It tastes great! I used French Vanilla cake mix and pudding because that's what I had. I also used only 1Cup milk - I think I could have used 1 1/4 and had a little more pudding, but it worked out fine. The key is to make sure EVERYTHING is cool. I put the cake and pudding in the fridge before assembling. With the cake cold the icing cooled quickly and set easily on the cake instead of just drizzling off the cake and onto the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States