Boston Brown Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I wasn't sure I liked Boston Brown Bread but decided to give it a try - we loved it! The loaf barely lasted 24 hours. The recipe was extremely easy and I liked that there weren't too many ingredients - it took less than 5 minutes to get in the oven. I made a couple of minor changes - 2 cups white flour & 1 cup wheat and tossed in a handful of raisins before baking. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
For those New Englanders out there, this is one of the best homemade brown breads out there...I added raisins to mine, and yes, the bread is supposed to be dry if you buy the stuff in the can...this was moist and delicious. Just what one needs to go along with homemade Boston baked beans and franks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Very good! I'm from Boston and have had the canned version of brown bread many times...this is just as good. My husband was doubtful when he saw me making it but enjoyed the final product. It's very moist and great with lots of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I just didn't understand this bread. Is it a sweet bread or one to eat with meals? It's not that is turned out "bad" per sey, but I struggled to find it's place in our meals. At first you wanted it to have raisins in it, the your'e like, maybe a bowl of soup. A little dry as well. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
wow... that is sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Really good. My husband said, "Tastes just like bread out of a can." (If you're confused, that's a good thing.) To keep the kitchen cooler, I used the quick-bread setting on my bread machine. Worked great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I'm not used to baking bread without yeast and I was surprised to see that this really did rise! I also added wheat germ and some bran and it turned out amazingly good. Loved this and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
First attempt at making a loaf of bread. It turned out great! I made 2 in the same day, gave one to a good friend's family. Their family and mine loved it! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
This bread was very easy to make. I had it cutomized to serve four and baked it in a smaller loaf pan (7 1/2 by 3 3/4. It turn out great. It was sweet and more like a dessert. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This was not my familie's cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States