Boston Brown Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
We made this easy and tasty bread for a Boston Tea Party school project and inadvertently discovered that it makes a great toddler snack too. It's sweet enough that little ones will eat it readily, but the sugar content isn't bad (and you could probably reduce it a bit if you wished). With whole wheat flour as the main ingredient, it's healthy and filling, certainly a better choice than most crackers. And it's dense enough that it doesn't leave a ton of messy crumbs. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Irresistible is the perfect word. Followed the recipe, baked it for 50 minutes. Served with ham which is so good with dark bread or bread that's a little sweet. This is both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royal Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Probably the easiest bread I've ever made and the tastes was great (big fan of molasses). I took the advice of a reviewer and put foil over the bread for the final 20 min of cooking time. It came out perfectly and was perfect with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Good, but definitely NOT traditional Boston Brown Bread. The traditional bread uses several grains and is steamed, not baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Terrific, my Cali bred grandkids love it. I'm from Mass and it was always served with beans and hot dogs. Couldn't find the canned anymore locally and tried another recipe (not right), then this. An added bonus. I have a dog that's on regular medication, this subs well for those expensive "pill pockets" that are sold. Just roll a little around the pill. LOL, you can keep leftover in the freezer and just thaw enough for a week or so. A little sweet, but overall, healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Amazing! Cooked it 5 min less and it was perfect! So good! We did half with raisin and half without. LOVED! My parents said it was wonderful which they don't say often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I liked this bread, next time I will add raisins. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
this bread is wonderful. Follow the recipe as written. It's almost like the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsAltmiller
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
First, let me just say that I LOVED this bread! But...if you are looking for a bread that is, well, bread like, this is not it. However, if you are looking for a moist bread that's similar to banana bread, then look no further! This bread is fantastic warm with some butter or cream cheese on top. I didn't change anything in the recipe except that I mixed the ingredients by hand and then used my bread machine to bake it (by using the bake only setting at 1 hour 5 minutes) and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This is a good thing to bake. Thanks for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States