Boston Brown Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
AWESOME! I was not expecting this -- I got online to find something to help use up some buttermilk and I now have a new favorite! I did make one change as I was low on molasses....as suggested I used 1/2 cup of molasses and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. My bread turned out so moist and wonderful -- sweet, but not overly sweet -- that I will continue to go with that mix. What a great find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Couldn't find brown bread in Sweet Bay so tried this recipe instead & am so glad I did. It was great & worth the work. Only thing I did differently was to bake @ 350 not 375 & did the 2 flours 50/50. Also plumped the raisins before adding to the batter. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jajam
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Moist, chewy, dark, packed with flavor and easy to boot! I made 1/2 recipe last night to go with home baked Boston beans & baked this smaller amount 45 minutes in my bread machine bake cycle. 1/2 recipe made loaf 4x9x2". It was surprizingly similar to my usual steamed bread. Definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This is a great recipe - so ridiculously simple, which is a good way to guarantee that you'll get the same results every time. I've done some experimenting. The first is that I've never made it with buttermilk. My son is allergic to milk, so I substitute a teaspoon of vinegar in soy milk. It works perfectly. I have also taken to subbing out one of the cups of ww flour for a cup of rye flour. I use a combination of black strap and full flavor molasses. That may sound potent, but my son is only 3 and I have to cut him off. He'd eat the whole loaf. Speaking of loaf size - I've also divided this into two pans and cooked for 45 minutes. We have a friend with a milk and egg allergic son, so we like to share a loaf with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This bread was just what I needed to go w/ homemade split pea soup w/ lots of carrots (for sweetness). I made a half recipe b/c that was all I needed. Unfortunately I made it w/o reading the reviews first and found out the hard way that the baking temp. needed to be lower (350 deg.). The outside of my bread, both top & bottom, was almost burnt while the inside was still too wet. I made it a 2nd time w/ half the molasses called for, a little additional buttermilk to make up for the missing portion of molasses, and cooked it longer at 350 deg.. It was still quite moist like it should be, not as dry as cake, but it did not taste anymore like uncooked dough inside. Like most no fat baked goods, the texture was a bit rubbery, but the raisins helped break it up. I think it's important to use lighter molasses--definitely not blackstrap or the taste will be too strong. I'll bet English golden syrup would work well too. The corrected recipe is now my go-to boston brown bread--better than store bought, and perfect w/ baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Wow, does this bring back memories! My Grandma Helen used to make a fabulous brown bread that I loved as a child. This comes very close. I used 3/4 cup of molasses and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I love baking with buttermilk as it really does make everything come out very moist. I baked it at 350 for 1 hour and 15 minutes.This is a wonderful bread that is chewy, sweet and chock full of raisins! Perfect served warm with butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Wow, this bread was easy to make! It is really sweet though, and did not pair well with chili. It would pair nicely with chicken soup or most other mild soups. Be sure to bake it long enough. Knowing my oven, I was afraid to bake it at 375, so I had it at 360. I let mine bake about 55 minutes, but it should have had another 5 minutes. Next time, I would use two smaller pans instead of the large loaf pan, because the load was nicely brown on the edges, crispy on top, but the middle was not quite done. All in all, a yummy nutritious quick bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Sorry, but this is the first recipe I have ever made from this site that was a total bust. It just didn't work for me and I love Boston Brown Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Wonderful, wonderful recipe!!! I followed the recipe exactly, but I ommited the raisins and added cinn.,nutmeg and ginger. Tasted just like what Mom used to buy in the can.......DELICIOUS!!!! I love it toasted with lot's of butter.......Thanx for the great childhood memories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Loved this recipe. I made it just as indicated which I always do first. It came together quickly and was delightful. One different step I did do was to bake at 350 degrees and tented for the last 15 min like one of the reviewers suggested - then used the tin foil to wrap loosely. Delicious. Thanks Much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States