Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
I made this successfully in the crock pot. I soaked the beans overnight, drained them, skipped the simmer-for-2-hours step, and followed the rest of the recipe using the crock pot. I cooked it on low for 20 hours, and did have to add water periodically. AWESOME. thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1099 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
Out of all the baked bean recipes I found on this website, this is the only one made from scratch. I didn't want a "redo" of the canned stuff. These came out really good and even though you had to plan ahead, they were super easy. I also added some garlic, and cooked the beans with ham hocks for more flavor. I tripled the recipe for 25 people and had plenty left over. Everyone wanted the recipe! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
944 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Definitely a keeper- I used all of the same ingredients listed in the original recipe, but I wanted to make mine in the crockpot. I soaked my beans for 8 hours, then simmered my beans for 1 hour. I layered the beans, onions and bacon in my crockpot, then added a double batch of the sauce. I added enough water to cover and set on low for 10 hours. I like my beans thick, so for 2 hours I left the lid off and the sauce thickened very nicely. I had many requests for this recipe. I can't wait to make it again for Memorial Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
803 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
I originally submited this recipe several years ago. It has continued to serve me and my family for now nearly 43 years. I would just like to address those persons who are unhappy because of the name and claim it is not "authentic" Boston Baked Beans. This recipe was passed to me from my mother-in-law who passed away 11 years ago at the age of 87. It was her recipe so I don't feel it is my place to change anything about it and still give her credit for the recipe. She was a wonderful wife and mother who lived in the state of Wisconsin who when younger enjoyed cooking for her family and friends. To her this was Boston Baked Beans. She was not a fancy cook so to her, living in the age before computers and cooking websites, this was authentic. Please just enjoy it and don't get so hung up on the actual name. I continue to take this to group gatherings that rave about it and ask about the recipe. To me this is what is important and not the actual name. I hope many more people will try this and I know you will enjoy it regardless of the name. Copy the recipe, use it,and give it whatever name pleases you. AJRhodes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
625 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This is a great recipe. I soaked the beans overnight, but skipped the simmering for 2 hrs part and put them straight into the crock pot. On high, it took about 10 hrs for them to get tender and edible, so if you timed it so that they went in the crock pot before work, they'd be ready to go when you got home that evening, eliminating the need to be home for any cooking. I pan fried diced bacon before putting it in the beans, to eliminate some fat. I didn't have dry mustard, and I added some BBQ sauce and smoke flavoring to the mix. It has a great flavor (just like Bush's Baked beans). Just don't be in a big hurry to eat it, the beans definitely take awhile! If you're dying for homeade baked beans, just substitute canned navy beans, and you can skip the soaking and 10 hours of simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
351 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
This reminded me of my mom's baked beans. DELICIOUS! It was my first attempt at making baked beans from scratch, but certainly not the last! I used Canadian maple syrup instead of molasses, and onion powder instead of onion (I ran out of real onion). I also saved a couple slices of bacon, fried it until crisp, and crumbled it for garnish - very yummy. A loaf of homemade bread fresh from the oven topped off the meal. Just like when I was a kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Almonte, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I'm typing and eating at the same time!!! I didn't bother with the tough parts, you know, adding it all in a casserole dish. I just mixed it all up and tossed it into a crock pot. I also substituted cubed black forest ham instead of the bacon. It worked great. I'll make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Perfect flavor and presentation, Anita! I've never had a baked bean recipe be so precise and come out so perfect. In only 3 hours with a stirring half way through cooking time, we had great baked beans! My husband just kept saying "this is a keeper, this is a keeper"! Gee, I think he liked them...;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
I didn't have navy beans, so I used pintos. Only used the molasses, not the sugar, was plenty sweet. Very good flavor. I did add some liquid smoke. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Exchange, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivydale, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
The flavour of this recipe is excellent. I, like many other reviewers, had never made baked beans from scratch. I'll definitely make this recipe again, including several modifications for our taste. We found them too sweet, and would recommend adding a little bit of sugar at a time, to taste, or omitting entirely. Also, I added about 4 Tsp. tomato paste in addition to the ketchup, wanting a bit more tomato flavour. That worked nicely and didn't increase the sweetness as ketchup would. I did not add bacon, as I didn't want the smokey flavour and they were great. The food processor worked very well for the onions! Had I fully covered the beans with water I would have found them wet enough. They were just a little dry this time. I don't think they need to be cooked for quite as long. 2 hours was more than enough in my oven at 325. Thanks Anita for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 681) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States