Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I left out the 2 teasoons of salt altogether, as it was completely unnecessary with all that bacon and ready-made sauces. On the sugar front, against by better instincts, I followed the recipe faithfully. It was like some kind of candied bean dish, and virtually inedible. If I were to do this again, I would eliminate the brown sugar entirely, or perhaps just put in a pinch. And I would swap out the tomato ketchup for a tin of tomatoes. I'd also add in some celery to enhance the savoury element. I don't care whether that's authentic; I'm in the UK and have never had this dish cooked by an American, but I did Hugh Fearnley-Wittingstall's version of this dish from his Meat cookbook a few years ago. That one was enjoyed by my American flatmate at the time. But to me even that dish was on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I used soy beans and it came out awesome. The best baked beans I've ever made or tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shenzhen, Guangdong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Very time consuming and labor intensive to make, not really worth it. The beans took forever to tenderize on the stove, there was hardly enough sauce to fully coat the layered beans, and there wasn't enough bean water left to cover. Afraid of diluting the flavor with tap water, I baked it for less time to prevent it from drying up. The finished product tasted OK, but not terrific. Not really all that better than canned beans. The sauce did however taste good (maybe a wee bit salty) when it was freshly made. Next time, instead of spending all that time, I'll just make the sauce, and use it to dress up a can of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Delicious.Have made many times. Cannot go back to canned beans. No comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Blizzard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I have been making baked beans in my smaller crock pot for years, and never really measured the ingredients but tried to pull it off and my beans were O.K. I made these beans yesterday and WOW!! When I got up today after leaving them on "low" for about 10 hours, there were perfect! I like them thick with lots of sauce, and I got a wonderful batch of beans. The only change I made was to use cut up pork belly instead of bacon, less sodium. Thanks a heap for the recipe, I am keeping this one. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fudge lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
EDIT: I meant 1 TSP salt, not 1 TBL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Excellent. I used some fresh end-of-season pole beans I had left over from the garden that had matured too much to eat in the pod. (No need for soaking fresh beans. I did increase the amount of fresh beans to account for moisture difference between fresh and dried beans.) Like another reviewer, I cooked these in my crockpot for convenience and they turned out excellent. I don't think I'll be buying canned baked beans any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
These were good. I did not tweak the recipe. The problems I had were that they were too mushy because they cooked too long and they were too salty because 2 tsp of salt is way too much. Essentially this is a good recipe and I would make again with adjustments to cooking time and salt. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This was okay. I tasted the ketchup, I guess I made it wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Simply Delicious! I just made this recipe today and had to rate it! I followed some other reviewers advice and used my slow cooker. (1) I let the bean soak all day yesterday periodically adding water as needed. (2) This morning I layered uncooked beans, instead of onions I used onion powder, then 5 slices of applewood smoked bacon. (3) I drizzled some of the sauce over this layer and repeated until I finished the beans and bacon. (4) Then I filled with fresh water and let them cook. (5) Set on High for 2 hours. (6) Drizzled about 3 Tbsp on Maple Syrup at this point (7) Follow with setting on Low for 8-10 hours. They are soft and all the bacon has melted leaving little bits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 681) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States