Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
EDIT: I meant 1 TSP salt, not 1 TBL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Excellent. I used some fresh end-of-season pole beans I had left over from the garden that had matured too much to eat in the pod. (No need for soaking fresh beans. I did increase the amount of fresh beans to account for moisture difference between fresh and dried beans.) Like another reviewer, I cooked these in my crockpot for convenience and they turned out excellent. I don't think I'll be buying canned baked beans any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
These were good. I did not tweak the recipe. The problems I had were that they were too mushy because they cooked too long and they were too salty because 2 tsp of salt is way too much. Essentially this is a good recipe and I would make again with adjustments to cooking time and salt. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This was okay. I tasted the ketchup, I guess I made it wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Fulton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Simply Delicious! I just made this recipe today and had to rate it! I followed some other reviewers advice and used my slow cooker. (1) I let the bean soak all day yesterday periodically adding water as needed. (2) This morning I layered uncooked beans, instead of onions I used onion powder, then 5 slices of applewood smoked bacon. (3) I drizzled some of the sauce over this layer and repeated until I finished the beans and bacon. (4) Then I filled with fresh water and let them cook. (5) Set on High for 2 hours. (6) Drizzled about 3 Tbsp on Maple Syrup at this point (7) Follow with setting on Low for 8-10 hours. They are soft and all the bacon has melted leaving little bits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Everyone loved the flavour but I found this recipe time consuming so I will save it for special occations. I think I will try it in the crockpot next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Terry loved them. *Better than his Mom's" Wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Love this recipe only thing I changed is I didn't add bacon. Added garlic onion and vegetable seasoning. This made this dish more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
While these are a little time consuming to make they sure do taste better than the ones that come in a can. When I'm in a pinch and I'm making these last minute I use canned beans and shorten the baking time. Everyone loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Followed the recipe with the sole exception that I only used a scant teaspoon of salt and (since it was what I had on hand) used great northern rather than navy beans. I'm a 3-decade vegetarian, but often cook meat for my husband. The way this recipe is structured, I was able to prepare it in two casseroles: the first following the recipe exactly (but with the full complement of bacon) for my husband, and the second casserole which just omitted the bacon. Served it with Kentucky Biscuits from this site and fresh corn on the cob ... Pure Happiness!!! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 666) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States