Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I made a few alterations. I used salt pork instead of bacon and only 1 tsp of salt. Other than that I followed the ingredients to the letter. I soaked my beans overnight, drained them. I didn't simmer them, since I'd never seen my mom do that, instead I threw them in my ceramic bean pot with all the other ingredients and let them go in my oven at 350 all afternoon. I checked every so often adding water as needed, testing the beans for doneness, and took them out when they tasted right. Couldn't be easier. Delicious flavor. The ketchup made them taste a little different than the true Boston baked beans I grew up with, but I actually like these better. Way more flavor. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I have made these beans twice now. They are so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Too much worchestershire sauce. It drowns out the rest of the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Great recipe, I throw in half a pound of chopped bacon because I love bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dockgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I originally had this a 4 star but went to a 3 star. It was too sweet for me. It was better the second day. Now I didnt follow the recipe completely. In order to speed it up I used pre cooked beans. I will look for another recipe for baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I found the video to this recipe first, then the recipe.. I can't wait to try it for my daughters graduation party in June...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I made this bean recipe yesterday, while I didn't really change the recipe I did a few things different. The first thing I did was rinse and inspect my dried beans (this step is really necessery)Then I soak the beans changing the water a couple of times. When I put them on to boil and did it with fresh water, your beans will tast better when you do this and your gas will be less. For the bacon I used bacon ends and pieces instead of strip bacon. You can cut away a lot of the fat this way, and the chunky pieces taste great after baking. The one thing I did change was the amount of salt, you can always add it later if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
These beans taste great! I did less salt and used cooked red kidney and navy beans. It was a hit with my family. Definitely will be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Very successful side dish. Made it in a slow cooker cooked on low fro 12 hours, adding liquid a couple times. Definitely will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 700) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States