Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by butterqueen
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I love baked beans, specifically vegetarian beans but since we tried to go organic eating healthier BUSH was not am option. This is an absolutely lovely recipe, I made some substitutions and actually doubled the sauce for the beans instead of adding more water (we like sweet baked beans!) So the extra sauce was in addition to the water from the beans that was reserved from simmering. I didn't have dry mustard on hand so I used bone suckin' mustard no molasses so I used honey and I wanted veggie beans so I added bell pepper, I don't use Worcestershire sauce but regular soy stood in perfectly (I didn't sub anything else I promise lol) but they were delicious.Next go round I will not use the slowcooker it took forever so unless you've got all day just use the oven. I did take one reviewers suggestions for thicker sauce and left the lid off at the end,I imagine you could do the same thing in the oven by pulling back the foil a bit our removing the lid. Wonderful recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterqueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I have now made this recipe twice and both times it was a hit with the crowd of people at our pot luck. I did not change the ingredients at all. I did find however that both times I needed to add liquid so the beans would not dry out and with that being said, there was not enough of the original liquid left from soaking the beans even though I had plenty to start, so.....I simmered a medium sized pot on the stove with some beans, once the beans went into the oven. This way midway thru when I had to add more liquid, I had some of the bean water to add, rather than just plain old water. Perfect recipe, I wouldn't change a thing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I've never made beans from scratch before; i even had trouble finding dry navy beans...but with that said I was pleasantly surprised how well they turned out. I didn't change a thing other than to half the recipe since it was only my husband and I eating them. I served them with ribs and coleslaw. Now I can't wait until summer to bring these to our next family BBQ and shock them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phairber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
First time I have made Boston Baked Beans. They were perfect. The whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Best baked beans I have ever made! Loved the sweet flavour! Made them on the crock pot and were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I never made beans before but a couple of months ago I decided I'd try. I used this recipe and WOW. My 83 year old father loves them and always says these are the best beans he's ever had. My daughter in law takes a bite and closes her eyes and moans and says the same as my father lol. I've made these 4 times. This recipe is easy to follow. The package of beans I use have almost 3 cups of beans so I add a little more ketchup and brown sugar, probably 1/8th of a cup. Two T of Worcestershire 1 teaspoon of mustard 5 T molasses. And always soak the navy beans overnight or 8 hours. Simmer on the stove top for 2 hours 3 hours in the oven, shut the oven off let them set for 30 to 40 mins just to soak up the liquid. PERFECT I make biscuits (the recipe on the back of bakewell creme) is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
These had great flavor. I soaked mine overnight drained and then boiled for an hour and a half. I put everything in the crockpot and cooked on high for about 7 hours and thought the were still a little hard for my liking. I will for sure make these again but will start soaking in the morning and the boil at night and start the crockpot that night to cook overnight into the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Eeek! Way to greasy. Put less than the recommended amount of bacon and I still spent an hour skimming the grease out of it. Tasted ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom24t

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These were the WORST baked beans I ever tried. Screw the oven method, they were way too dry, not enough seasoning or sauce to save them. Slow cooker method, not much better. I wasted a fair amount of expensive ingredients on this recipe, will NEVER do so again. EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
The first time I tried this recipe was for Thanksgiving. It was a hit! Two weeks later and this is now the fourth time I made this recipe. I am addicted to this. I substituted regular mustard for dry mustard, I didn't use any molasses. My wife does not eat pork so I make it either with meat, turkey sausage or no meat at all and it still tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghettosamson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 675) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States