Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I make this for a family BBQ. everyone loved it! they actually fought over the leftovers. really great baked bean recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I have searched and searched for a real baked bean recipe and was so happy to find this. Because real baked beans take a couple of days to prepare, with the soaking etc, my son and I make a huge batch and can it so we can enjoy these yummy beans any time without the extra work. For canning we make extra sauce, fill the jars 2/3- 3/4 full of the bean, sauce, onion & bacon mixture then add more sauce to leave 1 inch of head space and can according the directions that came with our pressure canner. In fact, we're working on a batch as I write this! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Very good. I did use a slow cooker though. Also added some chili flakes for a bit of bite. I find it rather comical that those that disliked it changed the recipe, made it wrong, or complained it takes to long and have to preplan. The whole point is to make baked beans from scratch, if that's not what your looking for buy a can of beans. LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I'll go bake to baking it my way, thanks. It sure is going to last for quite some time. Lots of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Followed the recipe to the letter. I was going to do what one reviewer did and put it in the crock pot for 20 hours, but to have for dinner, I'd have had to start it at like 2 a.m. Not happening. These were full of flavor, had the right texture, and were, overall, quite good. My mom especially liked them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I usually make these exactly as written, and people love them. Great recipe! As the author suggests, you'll probably need to add some reserved bean water, maybe a cup or so, a couple hours into the cooking time. Also, this recipe doesn't yield a huge portion, so you may need to make two batches if you're feeding a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Always wanted to try baked beans from scratch. It was wonderful, I acquired a bean pot and the were great!!!! thankyou Okay here's a follow up the first were good but the second attempt was great, I omitted the ketchup and worshire . used half cup of molasses and half cup of brown sugar, OMG OMG The bacon the bean the mustard all the same YUM YUM YUM Oh Did I Say YUM ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hart, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This recipe was okay. We really like baked beans in my home but this didn't go over very well. First it was too sweet and second it was too tomatoey. Those two flavors completely overpowered the bacon. It's too bad because it smelled wonderful while cooking and it was easy. I ended up using canned navy beans and cooked it in a cast iron pot for about 2-1/2 hours. The beans were perfectly cooked. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I found this to be a great tasting and simple recipe (although time consuming when using dry beans). I totally ignored all the baked bean recipes that included canned baked beans as an ingredient since I believe that is simply a modification and not an actual recipe on its own. The only change to the ingredients I made was that I cut the amount of salt in half and will most likely eliminate it all together the next time I make this. Between the bacon, ketchup and Worcestershire sauce, the sodium content is well covered. Although it may seem like I should not give it 5 stars based on my comments, all I can say is that the taste and texture (not thin and runny like the canned versions)suited me very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
My sister makes a baked bean dish that everyone loves. However, I've never made baked beans from scratch before. I've been hungry for them and this recipe looked like a good one to try! At the start I decided to double everything. I rinsed the navy beans then set them to simmer for 3-4 hours on the stove, until they were tender. After that I drained them and transferred them to a crock pot. At that point I added all the ingredients mentioned with the addition of 1/2 lb. of browned hamburger. I added more brown sugar and molasses to taste. In error I didn't reserve any of the bean water but I never needed it. They are the perfect consistency and taste WONDERFUL! I will add that I left them in the crock pot over night on a low setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 681) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States