Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This was the first time I had ever made baked beans, and I was preparing it for a group that includes a vegetarian and a person on a no-salt diet. In place of salt, I used Zesty Mrs Dash, and I just left out the bacon. Also, I couldn't find "navy beans" at the store, so I ended up getting kidney beans. (Afterwards, I looked it up and found out that "navy beans" and "white beans" are the same. Oh, well.) Anyway, I made this in the crock pot, and everyone in my group DEVOURED it. Even the guy from Boston said they were really good. Thank you for providing an excellent base recipe for me to work off of. I will definitely be making this again. And yanno, I'll probably stick with the Mrs Dash. It tasted great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This was the first time I had ever made baked beans from scratch, and these were really good! The only thing I would change in this recipe (my husband suggested it), was maybe a little more brown sugar. Otherwise, I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Did not like these at all.....not at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Very good recipe. I used 3 tablespoons of maple syrup plus 1 tablespoon of Molasses (for the colour) and added 2 tablespoons of Tomato paste (as we prefer the taste of tomatoes). Cooked it successfully in the Crock Pot for 8 hours on low after simmering for one hour on the stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margieleow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I read many recipes that required so much sugar and I really was against making something with lots of sugar. I came across this recipe and after reading its ingredients figured I'd give it a try. I doubled the recipe to make sure I had enough for all the people coming over for Independence Day. It was about 11am on the day I needed these for 7pm dinner, so I decided to pull out the handy-dandy pressure cooker and cooked my dry beans for 30 min in the pressure cooker (just as good as soaking overnight and cooking them for 2-3 hours until tender, but only takes 40 minutes. Outside of that I also wanted to cut down on the fat content so I diced up my bacon, fried it til crisply, then rinsed the bacon in colander with hot water. Good healthy way to rinse the fats away from cooked meats that are not lean. Other than that I followed the recipe to the letter. It was wonderful. I think next time I will experiment with a bit of fresh garlic (just cause Im not one to adhere to a recipe, and enjoy the "creative" aspects of cooking) - So please feel free to use this recipe, you will not be disappointed, lower in sugar than most recipes, and if you wash your bacon, you also lower the fat content exponentially
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Not huge baked bean fans in our family so I thought I'd try a scratch recipe....I hit the right one FOR SURE!! I rarely use canned beans for anything because they are so easy(yet time consuming) to prepare and they haven't been stored for months in TIN... SOOO I made the recipe EXACTLY as written except I did not have Navy beans(I used pintos) or Worcestershire so I used A1 instead, and I forgot to save the bean cooking liquid( I used a small amount of water) THESE turned out AMAZING!! I do like the sauce thick so I removed the lid and baked the last 45 min or so, they came out not mushy nicely thickened and DELICIOUS!! I will NEVER buy canned BBQ beans EVER!! Take the time to cook an absolutely amazing recipe for your friends and family this summer, their smiles and the empty pot at the end will warm your heart !!! I would rate this 10 stars if possible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carridawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Not sure how to rate this since mine turned out fantastic, but I made necessary change to make it so. It has great ingredients though. I did a 16 oz pkg of navy beans, and salt only to taste. I cooked the bacon and onion in a cast iron dutch oven and then added the rest of the ingredients. I cooked my beans about 1/2 way in boiling water. I poured off the water and rinsed with cold water to stop the cooking while I was making the sauce. I put in the beans and added an appropriate amount of water. I cooked in dutch oven at 350 checking every 1/2 hour. It took 1 1/2 hours and they were fantastic! So yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
My first attempt at homemade beans and sooo good! I agree that you have a chance of over cooking the beans so check them closely at 2 hours. Added a diced red bell pepper and minced chili pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This is a delicious recipe! I wanted to make bake beams from scratch...none of this 'open a can of this' and add a 'can of that' business. This will be my go to recipe for beans from now on. I made it nearly exactly as written but made a larger batch. It is also 90+ degrees today, so I used my slow cooker as opposed to the oven. I also don't soak my beans overnight, but rather, cook them on low for several hours, then drain and rinse them, add them back to the slow cooker and add the remaining ingredients. Voila! Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rouses Point, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Well done! Thanks for a great traditional recipe. I'm tired of recipes that say little more than "Pour BBQ sauce over your favorite canned baked beans."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spike Da Peke
Living In: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef, these ain’t your typical baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States