Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Never made baked beans before, a good friend was coming for her birthday dinner and she loves baked beans so gave it a try! I did follow someone else's advice about draining the water the beans were soaked in, rinsing and added fresh water (with a cube of vegetable stock) and cooked for one hour and when checked beans were done.i. Being a hot day I used a crock pot..came out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterloo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
This is the first time I made real baked beans. Followed the recipe to the letter. Wonderful. Will be making for Memorial Day picnic. Wanted to try it out first. No changes necessary. Thank you for submitting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I love this recipe! I double it up. I've also made some tweeks. As the water boils down, I add chicken stalk. I add a little more dry mustard and molasses. And I chop the bacon b4 I put it on the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I cut the salt in half, and fried up the bacon and onions before layering them in. I will tweek the flavors a little more the next time I make these. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Today, Easter Sunday is the 4th time I've made this recipe. It truly is the best baked beans recipe I have ever made in my almost 50 years. I have even used pinto beans when I didn't have navy beans, with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FREEPANTHER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I made this for a large group get together and everyone loved it. I doubled the batch and made a few minor changes: I cut down on the onion a bit (my personal taste/preference) and diced the bacon. I did not layer the beans, bacon and onion, but mixed it up. Since the onion and bacon were diced, this was easy to do. I also mixed the sauce in instead of pouring it on top. I also cooked this in a crock pot set on high instead of baking in the oven and it seems to do well. This is definitely a keeper recipe and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This is fantastic! I used the dry beans that I had on hand, not exactly what the recipe called for, and it was still the tastiest baked beans I've served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
This is absolutely one of the best Boston bean recipes I have eaten and so easy to make. I forgot to soak the beans overnight so brought a pot of water to a boil, and soaked the beans for an hour, drained and followed the recipe....sooooo yummy and my family loved them. Will put into my favorite recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This is our go-to baked beans recipe! Absolutely love it, although we add only 1/2 teaspoon of salt and use a crock pot to soak/cook the beans before assembling and baking. That way we can eat them up same day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ezekiel06
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
These are delicious! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 698) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States