Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I cut the salt in half, and fried up the bacon and onions before layering them in. I will tweek the flavors a little more the next time I make these. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Today, Easter Sunday is the 4th time I've made this recipe. It truly is the best baked beans recipe I have ever made in my almost 50 years. I have even used pinto beans when I didn't have navy beans, with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FREEPANTHER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I made this for a large group get together and everyone loved it. I doubled the batch and made a few minor changes: I cut down on the onion a bit (my personal taste/preference) and diced the bacon. I did not layer the beans, bacon and onion, but mixed it up. Since the onion and bacon were diced, this was easy to do. I also mixed the sauce in instead of pouring it on top. I also cooked this in a crock pot set on high instead of baking in the oven and it seems to do well. This is definitely a keeper recipe and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This is fantastic! I used the dry beans that I had on hand, not exactly what the recipe called for, and it was still the tastiest baked beans I've served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
This is absolutely one of the best Boston bean recipes I have eaten and so easy to make. I forgot to soak the beans overnight so brought a pot of water to a boil, and soaked the beans for an hour, drained and followed the recipe....sooooo yummy and my family loved them. Will put into my favorite recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This is our go-to baked beans recipe! Absolutely love it, although we add only 1/2 teaspoon of salt and use a crock pot to soak/cook the beans before assembling and baking. That way we can eat them up same day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ezekiel06
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
These are delicious! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Fine enough recipe and yet, the cooking method disappoints, for me. I find the texture loses something to the soaking AND boiling AND baking. These might be better described as "boiled" rather than baked. A soak over-night is best, with a longer baking time, a whole onion (not diced) and clove (typically pierced into an onion half that's for flavor). The boiling is useful if an overnight soak isn't possible (a quick soak, often mentioned on bean labels). But, doing both made the beans to mushy for my taste. Long, slow baking, covered then uncovered creates a tender but recognizable bean with a sticky, developed sauce. ether a s
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Really lacked flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Just awesome. I did not use bacon and I messed up and used one half cup of brown sugar instead of one quarter cup but was awesome. I used vegetable broth instead of water to simmer the beans. Awesome recipe. Will use this recipe for baked beans happily ever after. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 695) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States