Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2001
WOW ...This was wonderful. I will never buy a can of Baked Beans ever again. This takes some time but it is worth it...Thanks for sharing this one with us.~Sam & Ron in Cincinnati & Elk Lake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
I originally submited this recipe several years ago. It has continued to serve me and my family for now nearly 43 years. I would just like to address those persons who are unhappy because of the name and claim it is not "authentic" Boston Baked Beans. This recipe was passed to me from my mother-in-law who passed away 11 years ago at the age of 87. It was her recipe so I don't feel it is my place to change anything about it and still give her credit for the recipe. She was a wonderful wife and mother who lived in the state of Wisconsin who when younger enjoyed cooking for her family and friends. To her this was Boston Baked Beans. She was not a fancy cook so to her, living in the age before computers and cooking websites, this was authentic. Please just enjoy it and don't get so hung up on the actual name. I continue to take this to group gatherings that rave about it and ask about the recipe. To me this is what is important and not the actual name. I hope many more people will try this and I know you will enjoy it regardless of the name. Copy the recipe, use it,and give it whatever name pleases you. AJRhodes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
508 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
You DO need the time for slow cooking but these beans are definitely worth it - in a word "GREAT"! Start mid-morning and you've got a wonderful dinner dish - my husband especially enjoys the aroma as they bake! "Mama Mary"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
Easy -- Healthy -- Cheap I like this better then canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
These beans were just sweet enough, it's the flavor I've been looking for without the long wait and without the mess. I used a mild flavored molasses. My family simply loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2001
We all loved it - not too sweet - not too oniony!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2001
Excellent recipe. I don't like beans that are too sweet, and this recipe is perfect. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
This was my first time making any sort of baked beans, and they turned out great! I like sweet baked beans so next time I'll add a little more brown sugar, but these would be hard to beat. Great recipe! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2001
The beans were great...worth the wait and the aroma was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
I've tried in the past to make boston baked beans from scratch, but I was never happy with them until I tried this recipe. We loved them. Thanks Anita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States