Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
I wanted to recreate my mother's baked bean recipe I forgot the steps. Mom would lay the onions on the bottom, the beans in the middle and the bacon on top. I also remember she would take a cup of the baked beans out the last hour of baking. She would mash this cup of beans and add it back into the baking process. Other than that, this was much like my mom's. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
You DO need the time for slow cooking but these beans are definitely worth it - in a word "GREAT"! Start mid-morning and you've got a wonderful dinner dish - my husband especially enjoys the aroma as they bake! "Mama Mary"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
Easy -- Healthy -- Cheap I like this better then canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
WOW ...This was wonderful. I will never buy a can of Baked Beans ever again. This takes some time but it is worth it...Thanks for sharing this one with us.~Sam & Ron in Cincinnati & Elk Lake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
These beans were just sweet enough, it's the flavor I've been looking for without the long wait and without the mess. I used a mild flavored molasses. My family simply loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2001
We all loved it - not too sweet - not too oniony!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2001
Excellent recipe. I don't like beans that are too sweet, and this recipe is perfect. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2001
Ever since moving back to New England, I've been dying to make real baked beans for my Miamian boyfriend. I tried this recipe and it came out great except that the beans were a little dry. That was completely my own fault, but I'd never made beans before so didn't know that I would need to soak my beans in LOTS of water so I'd have plenty of liquid for cooking. Let this be a caveat to future bean cookers! Otherwise, these were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
This was my first time making any sort of baked beans, and they turned out great! I like sweet baked beans so next time I'll add a little more brown sugar, but these would be hard to beat. Great recipe! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2001
The beans were great...worth the wait and the aroma was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 681) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States