Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Made this yesterday and this recipe is fantastic. Had made other recipes for baked beans unsuccessfully. This was so easy, I made the recipe as noted with an addition of maple syrup. Have added this one to my recipe box - a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Excellent. My mother had a homemade bean receipt in her head. I would always try to ask how she made it but could ever get the way she did it. Baked beans was her favorite meal. When she passed away the year I made these beans for her memorial supper for my family. They were a huge hit and tasted very similar to moms. Thanks so much for having this Recipe and I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Been searching for a good baked beans recipe, and this is it! You have to plan this one, anything short of the 6 hour cook time yields inferior results, I've gone 1 and 2 hours further in the oven for fantastic results. I use this recipe as the base for my beans as I like mine with more "oomph" (spicy). If you follow this recipe and allow for the full cook time, you should have amazing beans still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Just made these and the flavor is great! I followed the recipe exactly, and the only comment is the skins on the beans are a bit tough, but I read that adding salt to the soaking water helps with this. Will try that next time and leave the salt out of the sauce to compensate. Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Wonderful - I'll never buy canned baked beans again. Next time, I'm adding a little heat - jalapeno pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
These are really good, so much better than the quicky versions...in my opinion. This recipe is great as written, but very easy to make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I make this for a family BBQ. everyone loved it! they actually fought over the leftovers. really great baked bean recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Minor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I have searched and searched for a real baked bean recipe and was so happy to find this. Because real baked beans take a couple of days to prepare, with the soaking etc, my son and I make a huge batch and can it so we can enjoy these yummy beans any time without the extra work. For canning we make extra sauce, fill the jars 2/3- 3/4 full of the bean, sauce, onion & bacon mixture then add more sauce to leave 1 inch of head space and can according the directions that came with our pressure canner. In fact, we're working on a batch as I write this! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Very good. I did use a slow cooker though. Also added some chili flakes for a bit of bite. I find it rather comical that those that disliked it changed the recipe, made it wrong, or complained it takes to long and have to preplan. The whole point is to make baked beans from scratch, if that's not what your looking for buy a can of beans. LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I'll go bake to baking it my way, thanks. It sure is going to last for quite some time. Lots of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 707) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States