Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe! And it's practically mistake proof. I ended up making them in my slow cooker; I soaked the beans overnight and cooked them until tender before I added the rest of the ingredients. When I did add the rest of the ingredients, I accidentally miscalculated the amount to double and ended up quadrupling everything but the beans, bacon, and onion; they were still amazing. The extra liquid also allowed me to cook them longer without drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Excellent! I didn't have to time to soak the beans overnight, so did the "quick soak" method of bringing them to a boil, covering the pot, and letting them sit for one hour. Did the rest of the recipe as called for, but all in a crock pot. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
These were good. I picked these to make because they were the only ones I could find completely from scratch. Everyone really liked them. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Made this yesterday and this recipe is fantastic. Had made other recipes for baked beans unsuccessfully. This was so easy, I made the recipe as noted with an addition of maple syrup. Have added this one to my recipe box - a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Excellent. My mother had a homemade bean receipt in her head. I would always try to ask how she made it but could ever get the way she did it. Baked beans was her favorite meal. When she passed away the year I made these beans for her memorial supper for my family. They were a huge hit and tasted very similar to moms. Thanks so much for having this Recipe and I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Been searching for a good baked beans recipe, and this is it! You have to plan this one, anything short of the 6 hour cook time yields inferior results, I've gone 1 and 2 hours further in the oven for fantastic results. I use this recipe as the base for my beans as I like mine with more "oomph" (spicy). If you follow this recipe and allow for the full cook time, you should have amazing beans still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Just made these and the flavor is great! I followed the recipe exactly, and the only comment is the skins on the beans are a bit tough, but I read that adding salt to the soaking water helps with this. Will try that next time and leave the salt out of the sauce to compensate. Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Wonderful - I'll never buy canned baked beans again. Next time, I'm adding a little heat - jalapeno pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
These are really good, so much better than the quicky versions...in my opinion. This recipe is great as written, but very easy to make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I make this for a family BBQ. everyone loved it! they actually fought over the leftovers. really great baked bean recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 660) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States