Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
These beans taste great! I did less salt and used cooked red kidney and navy beans. It was a hit with my family. Definitely will be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Very successful side dish. Made it in a slow cooker cooked on low fro 12 hours, adding liquid a couple times. Definitely will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
It was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Dad asked for beans. I'd never tried to make them before, so I followed this recipe and he LOVES them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosesonata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I made this exactly as directed and was very disappointed. It completely lacked flavor and I would have preferred plain old navy beans. I managed to salvage the recipe by making another batch of sauce, adding more water and baking for an additional 45 minutes. My vote- it's not worth the time it takes to make. I guess it's back to doctored up canned beans until I find a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
If I could give this more stars I would. Simply delicious. I made this Boston Brown Bread with raisins to go with it to make a simply bean dish into a protein worth of a top place in my rotation of meals. Thank you for taking the time to post this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Photo by LadyBug06445
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
We had a bbq potluck at work and I was chosen to bring baked beans. I wanted to take something other than just out of a can beans. I had never made my own baked beans before but found this recipe and it seemed easy so I thought I would give it a shot. Let me begin by saying.........FANTASTIC!!! Everyone loved them. There is one person who does not eat pork so I made them without the bacon and they still came out great. I can not wait to make these again but with bacon this time. Let me note that besides omitting the bacon, I followed the recipe to a tee maybe that's why some people complained in earlier reviews that they are a bit too salty for them so just cut the salt to 1 tsp or omit entirely. I do not have a 2 quart baking dish so I used a regular 9x13 pan I covered the beans with the reserved juice, baked for an hour and 1/2, uncovered, added a bit more juice and stirred, baked uncovered for another hour, stirred in a bit more juice and baked for another hour and they came out perfect. I did not give this 5 stars but JUST because of the cooking time but I am definitely keeping this recipe and it will become a family fav. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyBug06445

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by butterqueen
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I love baked beans, specifically vegetarian beans but since we tried to go organic eating healthier BUSH was not am option. This is an absolutely lovely recipe, I made some substitutions and actually doubled the sauce for the beans instead of adding more water (we like sweet baked beans!) So the extra sauce was in addition to the water from the beans that was reserved from simmering. I didn't have dry mustard on hand so I used bone suckin' mustard no molasses so I used honey and I wanted veggie beans so I added bell pepper, I don't use Worcestershire sauce but regular soy stood in perfectly (I didn't sub anything else I promise lol) but they were delicious.Next go round I will not use the slowcooker it took forever so unless you've got all day just use the oven. I did take one reviewers suggestions for thicker sauce and left the lid off at the end,I imagine you could do the same thing in the oven by pulling back the foil a bit our removing the lid. Wonderful recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterqueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I have now made this recipe twice and both times it was a hit with the crowd of people at our pot luck. I did not change the ingredients at all. I did find however that both times I needed to add liquid so the beans would not dry out and with that being said, there was not enough of the original liquid left from soaking the beans even though I had plenty to start, so.....I simmered a medium sized pot on the stove with some beans, once the beans went into the oven. This way midway thru when I had to add more liquid, I had some of the bean water to add, rather than just plain old water. Perfect recipe, I wouldn't change a thing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I've never made beans from scratch before; i even had trouble finding dry navy beans...but with that said I was pleasantly surprised how well they turned out. I didn't change a thing other than to half the recipe since it was only my husband and I eating them. I served them with ribs and coleslaw. Now I can't wait until summer to bring these to our next family BBQ and shock them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phairber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 682) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States