Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I have made this recipe at least 8 times and it is always a crowd pleaser. I have made it exactly as printed more than once. The directions are perfect and the beans turned out well each time. I have done it in the crock pot lots of times. My whole family prefers this method. The beans hold their shape a little better and it always seems to fit my schedule better. I follow J.P.'s suggestions: I made this successfully in the crock pot. I soaked the beans overnight, drained them, skipped the simmer-for-2-hours step, and followed the rest of the recipe using the crock pot. I cooked it on low for 20 hours, and did have to add water periodically. AWESOME. thanks you! Whichever way you you try it you'll be a happy hostess. It's the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Fantastic! I tripled the recipe to feed 6 adults and 4 kids - everyone had seconds or thirds, they were super delicious. The only thing I changed was I didn't bother to layer anything. I just mixed it all up and baked it that way, and it still turned out perfect. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Not sure what happened. Followed this to the letter but it was so soupy that I had to drain off a lot of liquid and of course flavor got drained off with it. I was hoping that it would be thick and dark like the photo... Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtgplnrlisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Budd Lake, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
These were delicious!! I had to cook them longer to soften the beans but overall a fabulous baked bean recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I used this recipe for the 4th July...I will never buy can baked beans again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oak&Ivy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This is the second time I made this delicious baked beans. The first time I used two cans of pork and beans, drained and then added all the ingredients, this just made it faster to prepare. This time I’m starting from scratch, I omitted the the dry mustard and Worcestershire sauce. Instead of plain ketchup, I used hot ketchup, I also used pepped bacon ends to give a little kick. I will see how the family reacts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I made this recipe after trying several that were not so successful. This was stunning. At our family BBQ for 35 people, there was not a bean left.This is now my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Neepawa, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
2 thumbs up! I Exclusively use this recipe for making baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jamestown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Canned Pork and Beans makes wonderful baked beans if you need a quick start and cuts the baking time to less than an hour. Using this recipe and add some finely chopped green bell peppers adds more color and a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
These beans are delicious. Instead of bacon I use a tsp. of liquid smoke and a generous pour of maple syrup. I put everything in the crockpot and let it simmer overnight or all day. Then I let it sit for a few hours. They get better and better as time goes on. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 701) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States