Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Used pinto beans that were soaked overnight and cooked it in a crockpot. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This is very good, I use salt pork in this recipe and leave the salt out, cause the salt pork puts enough salt. This is my mothers recipe when we where little, she always said use salt pork and never add salt when you use salt pork. I also rather used salt pork I have to cut up myself instead od the sliced stuff they slice in the super market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iron River, Michigan, USA
Living In: Goodman, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
These taste fantastic! So, so easy and the aroma while baking is intoxicating. We are very salt sensitive, so the only change I made to the recipe was to omit the salt. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I have made this twice now. It's amazing! I usually take a shortcut and use canned navy beans. 6 14.5 ounce cans Navy Beans is about the same as a 2 cups dried beans. I rinse the beans well and then follow the recipe as written. That is really the only change I've ever made. Everyone loves these and they are delicious as left overs as well. Perfect to take a long to a pot luck or BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Tastes just like my grandma used to make! It was one of those recipes that she never put down on a recipe card. Been looking for it for years! Although I did not use all of the salt that the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I made a few alterations. I used salt pork instead of bacon and only 1 tsp of salt. Other than that I followed the ingredients to the letter. I soaked my beans overnight, drained them. I didn't simmer them, since I'd never seen my mom do that, instead I threw them in my ceramic bean pot with all the other ingredients and let them go in my oven at 350 all afternoon. I checked every so often adding water as needed, testing the beans for doneness, and took them out when they tasted right. Couldn't be easier. Delicious flavor. The ketchup made them taste a little different than the true Boston baked beans I grew up with, but I actually like these better. Way more flavor. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I have made these beans twice now. They are so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Too much worchestershire sauce. It drowns out the rest of the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Great recipe, I throw in half a pound of chopped bacon because I love bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dockgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 675) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States