Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Perfection! This is a keeper! Didn't have to tweak a single thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne OBrien-Kakley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I can't exactly answer for the flavour of this recipe because I made some changes to the ingredients, but the recipe was the only one which used dried beans to start and the directions are clear and precise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Arsenault

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
These baked beans were very good. I added a little white sugar and some cinnamon. It was a rave at my daughters Birthday Party!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This was a good start but for my family's tastes it was too heavy on the molasses flavor and just not zesty enough. I gave it the benefit of the doubt and waited until it was all baked together with the bacon and onion. But even then the molasses hadn't mellowed and there was just no zing. I added half a bottle of regular barbecue sauce which helped raise the tang factor but then it wasn't as sweet as I would've liked. Next time I'll use much less molasses, maybe add some vinegar and more pepper, and trust the taste of the sauce before it bakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I made a big mistake. I thought that if I made these in the crockpot they would be wonderful. Not so .Cooked them on high for 9 hours. Added water. Used lovely salt pork. Kicked up the dry mustard. Beans were boring. Bean skins caught in my throat. If I had taken them to a picnic. I would not say to anyone I had made them. Wonderful ingredients. DO NOT MAKE EM IN A CROCK POT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
WONDERFUL RECIPE AND SO SIMPLE TO PREPARE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
The sauce in the recipe is absolutely delicious. HOWEVER, I did make a couple of changes when I did the recipe. Firstly I tripled everything except the salt, left that for a single recipe, too much salt for me and only one and a half diced onions. Finally, since I did not pre-cook the navy beans rather than adding just the water from soaked beans I added water and 1/4 cup of Spiced Rum. We put them into a crock pot for five hours, let cool completely then refrigerate overnight. The next morning I added 1/4 cup of molasses, another 1/4 cup of Spiced rum, and 1 1/2 cups of water and started them on low again. In the end I had to cook in the crock pot for about 18 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Loved, loved, loved this! My husband hasn't stopped raving about how good these were...and it has been 4 days! I didn't decide to make them until around Noon, so didn't soak them overnight. I just simmered the beans in a pot for 2 hours and then moved on to putting them in the oven. They were a perfect texture! I skipped the Worcestershire sauce as I don't particularly care for that flavor--used a bit of vinegar for the acid. Delicious!! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is the recipe I have been looking for. Prepared exactly as stated but I cooked the beans in my crock pot for 20 hours. They were wonderful. This is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buzz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 666) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States