Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I'll go bake to baking it my way, thanks. It sure is going to last for quite some time. Lots of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Followed the recipe to the letter. I was going to do what one reviewer did and put it in the crock pot for 20 hours, but to have for dinner, I'd have had to start it at like 2 a.m. Not happening. These were full of flavor, had the right texture, and were, overall, quite good. My mom especially liked them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I usually make these exactly as written, and people love them. Great recipe! As the author suggests, you'll probably need to add some reserved bean water, maybe a cup or so, a couple hours into the cooking time. Also, this recipe doesn't yield a huge portion, so you may need to make two batches if you're feeding a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Always wanted to try baked beans from scratch. It was wonderful, I acquired a bean pot and the were great!!!! thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hart, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This recipe was okay. We really like baked beans in my home but this didn't go over very well. First it was too sweet and second it was too tomatoey. Those two flavors completely overpowered the bacon. It's too bad because it smelled wonderful while cooking and it was easy. I ended up using canned navy beans and cooked it in a cast iron pot for about 2-1/2 hours. The beans were perfectly cooked. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I found this to be a great tasting and simple recipe (although time consuming when using dry beans). I totally ignored all the baked bean recipes that included canned baked beans as an ingredient since I believe that is simply a modification and not an actual recipe on its own. The only change to the ingredients I made was that I cut the amount of salt in half and will most likely eliminate it all together the next time I make this. Between the bacon, ketchup and Worcestershire sauce, the sodium content is well covered. Although it may seem like I should not give it 5 stars based on my comments, all I can say is that the taste and texture (not thin and runny like the canned versions)suited me very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
My sister makes a baked bean dish that everyone loves. However, I've never made baked beans from scratch before. I've been hungry for them and this recipe looked like a good one to try! At the start I decided to double everything. I rinsed the navy beans then set them to simmer for 3-4 hours on the stove, until they were tender. After that I drained them and transferred them to a crock pot. At that point I added all the ingredients mentioned with the addition of 1/2 lb. of browned hamburger. I added more brown sugar and molasses to taste. In error I didn't reserve any of the bean water but I never needed it. They are the perfect consistency and taste WONDERFUL! I will add that I left them in the crock pot over night on a low setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I'll never buy the canned stuff again. This recipe is so easy and delicious! Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
When the sauce ingredients were mixed together with the liquid of the beans the taste was great but as soon as they reduced it became a cloying oversweet taste. I'd reduce the saucce ingredients by half, also the bacon as it's about the beans and a 2-1 bean to bacon ratio is too low. Also the beans were over sweet. Next time, I'm adding half the bacon, half the salt and half the sweet stuff. To recap, too salty and too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perfunctorman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I tried this recipe and it was great the best beans I have ever made and I didn't change a thing my family even said they were really delicious I will past this one on to my friend Bea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 639) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef, these ain’t your typical baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States