Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Always wanted to try baked beans from scratch. It was wonderful, I acquired a bean pot and the were great!!!! thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hart, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This recipe was okay. We really like baked beans in my home but this didn't go over very well. First it was too sweet and second it was too tomatoey. Those two flavors completely overpowered the bacon. It's too bad because it smelled wonderful while cooking and it was easy. I ended up using canned navy beans and cooked it in a cast iron pot for about 2-1/2 hours. The beans were perfectly cooked. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I found this to be a great tasting and simple recipe (although time consuming when using dry beans). I totally ignored all the baked bean recipes that included canned baked beans as an ingredient since I believe that is simply a modification and not an actual recipe on its own. The only change to the ingredients I made was that I cut the amount of salt in half and will most likely eliminate it all together the next time I make this. Between the bacon, ketchup and Worcestershire sauce, the sodium content is well covered. Although it may seem like I should not give it 5 stars based on my comments, all I can say is that the taste and texture (not thin and runny like the canned versions)suited me very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
My sister makes a baked bean dish that everyone loves. However, I've never made baked beans from scratch before. I've been hungry for them and this recipe looked like a good one to try! At the start I decided to double everything. I rinsed the navy beans then set them to simmer for 3-4 hours on the stove, until they were tender. After that I drained them and transferred them to a crock pot. At that point I added all the ingredients mentioned with the addition of 1/2 lb. of browned hamburger. I added more brown sugar and molasses to taste. In error I didn't reserve any of the bean water but I never needed it. They are the perfect consistency and taste WONDERFUL! I will add that I left them in the crock pot over night on a low setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I'll never buy the canned stuff again. This recipe is so easy and delicious! Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
When the sauce ingredients were mixed together with the liquid of the beans the taste was great but as soon as they reduced it became a cloying oversweet taste. I'd reduce the saucce ingredients by half, also the bacon as it's about the beans and a 2-1 bean to bacon ratio is too low. Also the beans were over sweet. Next time, I'm adding half the bacon, half the salt and half the sweet stuff. To recap, too salty and too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perfunctorman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I tried this recipe and it was great the best beans I have ever made and I didn't change a thing my family even said they were really delicious I will past this one on to my friend Bea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blondyblue7
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This Recipe was so easy to make and tastes Delicious.. Ending up adding a little more brown sugar to taste.. But overall was excellent...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blondyblue7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This was my first attempt at homemade baked beans and it will not be my last !!! Thank you for an amazing recipe. I made a couple small changes as I am vegan so omitted the bacon and used a couple drops of liquid smoke . Used vegan Worcestershire . And we don't use ketchup so I used 3 heaping tbsp tomato paste and a splash of vinager and a extra tbsp of brown sugar :) turned out aaaaaaamazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
EXCELLENT !!!! Easy to make. This was my first attempt at making Baked Beans and I was very excited with the results. My 10 year old daughter can't get enough. My mom always tried to make baked beans and they NEVER came out right. ALWAYS HARD! I can't wait to give her some of "mine" THANK YOU FOR THE RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef, these ain’t your typical baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States