Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This is our go-to baked beans recipe! Absolutely love it, although we add only 1/2 teaspoon of salt and use a crock pot to soak/cook the beans before assembling and baking. That way we can eat them up same day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ezekiel06
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
These are delicious! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Fine enough recipe and nice that it's become a family tradition but these aren't really Boston-style Beans. I understand, it make just be a matter of style. The flavors here are traditional (although you might find maple syrup rather than brown sugar in a lot of places. Brown sugar is popular too), yet, the cooking method disappoints, for me. I find the texture loses something to the soaking AND boiling AND baking. These might be better described as "boiled" rather than baked. A soak over-night is best, with a longer baking time, a whole onion (not diced) and clove (typically pierced into an onion half that's for flavor). The boiling is useful if an overnight soak isn't possible (a quick soak, often mentioned on bean labels). But, doing both made the beans to mushy for my taste. Long, slow baking, covered then uncovered creates a tender but recognizable bean with a sticky, developed sauce. Another interesting suggestion is the go-withs. Cornbread or biscuits seem like a road to a tasty Southern meal, rather than a Boston or New England experience where you'd pair brown bread with raisins, Parker House rolls, and possibly frankfurters. For an upper North East bean experience, a really creamy cole slaw is likely part of the suppah. I'm sure the cornbread is delicious, I'm probably too sentimental about the tradition. The cornbread suggestion surprised me. Tradition and beans there are serious business in Boston and Maine. There was a question about whether a s
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Really lacked flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Just awesome. I did not use bacon and I messed up and used one half cup of brown sugar instead of one quarter cup but was awesome. I used vegetable broth instead of water to simmer the beans. Awesome recipe. Will use this recipe for baked beans happily ever after. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
My husband was craving baked beans. I found this recipe. I did change it a little. I boiled the beans with ham hocks and dried garlic and dried onions. I made double the sauce but used half molasses and half maple syrup. I then put it in the crockpot for 8 hours on low omitting the bacon. Everybody loved it and practically licked the pot. Thank you. I was finally successful at made from scratch beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Simply amazing and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Great recipe overall! I use a traditional bean pot which makes it even more authentic. Depending on how long beans have soaked I might have to add more water to prevent drying out. Soaking really makes a difference to the bean and it's tenderness, try not not miss this step. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
The best baked beans that I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Street

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Great recipe! I'm asked to make it for every get together.... In fact I'm doing it today. Very very delicious!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States