Boscobel Beach Ginger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by no dairy dawn
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
My family all liked it. I didn't have fresh ginger (I usually do but was out ??) and since my husband is dairy free I used rice milk and earth balance "butter". Only made 1/2 the recipe so used a loaf pan instead of a bundt. It was a good size for the loaf pan. I cut back just a tad on the brown sugar and didn't sprinkle any powdered either. Was good enough that the 5 of us nearly polished it all off! (I did only make 1/2 the recipe remember) Mine didn't look as dark as the other pics but it's prob bc I didn't use real milk...toothpick came out clean after baking for almost as long as called for (41 min...smaller pan)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This was a very good recipe, easy to follow and the cake turned out lovely. I will probably add more ginger next time I make it. The recipe was good, but I like a lot of spice in my food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Very good cake. It is different with the subtle taste of ginger and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La Panadera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Lovely flavour! Soft and very more-ish. Yummy! -From a real Jamaican.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I work with a lot of older Caribbean women and when I brought this cake in they LOVED it. It was so popular I only got one small slice; I found it to be a bit dry but very tasty. The ginger flavor is prominent without going overboard, and it's not greasy despite all the butter. I mentioned that next time I wanted to make a glaze to gussy it up and they vehemently told me not to, that it was perfect. I will say grating the ginger was a huge pain in my butt, getting 1/4 cup took about 20 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I followed the recipe to the letter, and it was wonderful! Thank you, Margorita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Delicious! I used Ginger Spice Blend from a tube and substituted Splenda brown sugar for regular brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
The ginger is surprisingly mild, but this is a tasty cake nonetheless. Be warned: grating 1/4 cup of ginger root is a pain in the neck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This one looked pretty, but didn't grab me. I agree with those who said it isn't too gingery. I think those who thought it was, just don't like spices in that family all that much. Anyway, if there is a spice "problem," it may be the cinnamon - too much of it. It wasn't really identifiable as cinnamon, but more distracting from the ginger. Mine came out kinda dry, but my pan was larger so I'm taking the blame. I topped with a vanilla glaze & I think it needs more sugar in the cake itself - or maybe dark brown as suggested. A good cake to have with coffee. To end, I'm glad I tried it; but doubt I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I'm sorry but this cake is not very nice... I wanted to like it and I followed the instructions. The cake tasted bitter (I don't know if its cause of the ginger which I bought fresh on the day of making this) and had this horrible stinky smell... I used dark brown sugar instead but I'm sorry I don't think the cake is sweet enough as you could probably tell by looking at the flour: sugar ratio.... the only good thing about this cake was the texture and that it was moist... I threw the whole thing out the next morning. I won't make this recipe again... sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States