Boscobel Beach Ginger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Moist, light, and delicious. Maybe a little too gingery for my taste (it's so spicy that it tastes a bit "hot") so I think I'll go easy on the fresh ginger next time. I finished the cake with a butter rum glaze and it's just divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Fantastic! I brought this cake to a party and had two people come up to me three times to rave about it. A bunch of people said "Hey, you're the one who made that cake, right?" The cake texture is really perfect-- and that was even after I forgot to cream the butter and sugar together (instead I put the sugar in with the dry ingredients, and had to take a chance and bake the thing without the butter being properly distributed. Definitely will become a regular feature in my baking! Oh-- I did ice it with a simple confectioner's sugar / vanilla / milk blend, and then topped it with dusted sugar. I'd definitely recommend some kind of simple icing to sweeten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
My husband thought this was pretty good but I think it had a distinct flour taste. It definitely needs icing of some sort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Made this for my boyfriend and everyone loved it, made a few changes to make it extra moist: added 2tblsp black treacle to the batter; as soon as I took it out the oven, I skewered it all over and poured over a mix of 2tblsp brandy, 5g grated fresh ginger, 1tblsp water & 1/2tsp vanilla extract through a strainer & coated it with a vanilla glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Made this along with a pound cake for a large family party. When people heard "ginger cake" they made a beeline for the pound cake. Once the pound cake was gone, a few brave souls tried this one, and within minutes, word had spread. It was literally devoured in about four minutes. (I come from a long line of sweets lovers.) Anyway, I made a glaze of 1/2 stick melted butter, 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar and about 3 Tbsp ginger brandy and poured it over the top. It was great!!! Thanks for a recipe I will be using over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This was a big hit with my family! Excellent cake! Unfortunately I left it in the oven a tiny bit too long and it was a little dry so I made an orange custard sauce to go with it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Really nice, moist cake. The fresh ginger in it is wonderful & I can't imagine making it without it. Serving with an icing, cream, or glaze would make it outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
WHAT A CAKE!!! I like cakes that are full of flavor and not too sweet. This cake fit the bill. It is so moist and so light! (Although it won't feel light when it attaches to my hips -thanks to the real butter!) I shared it with neighbors who immediately asked for the recipe. I will be sure to bake this cake again!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This recipe was a huge success at work, I added a lemon glaze and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Outstanding. Wanted to try a gingercake recipe - had no molasses - found this!! Didn't have any vanilla so used maple syrup and finished it off with 1 tbs of lemon juice to 2/3 cup icing sugar, drizzled it over whilst still warm. Loved by my 3 children - my 2yr old took a spoon to the cake whilst I was out of the kitchen to the acclaim of 'gorgeous'. Certifiable success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States