Boscobel Beach Ginger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Delicious! Very gingery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I did not enjoy the spice combinations in this cake at all. I LOVE gingerbread, but this is not gingerbread. The ginger is way too strong and not sweet enough to balance it out. Definitely not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Wasn't a hit at a party, even with Jamaicans there. I think part of the problem is that I made it several days early. It may lose its moisture rapidly. This cake probably should be planned for same day serving and perhaps fresh out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Loooooved this! As did everyone else so it only lasted 1 day. I cut the butter down by 1/4c as that was all I had and it was still super moist. I made a lemony sourcream glaze as well. My new favourite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
this is a very good cake, my dad loves it. I do alter it somewhat for him, he loves honey and can't have any salt, and is a health nut. I make it according to recipe except with unsalted butter and i leave out the added salt... and it still comes out great, everyone loves it. I also load it with the fresh ginger root.... maybe 3/4 cup, I don't know... i throw the pulp and the juice and fibers and everything in there! I have made it like a 2 layer cake, and i mix the cake crumbs with raw honey and royal jelly (sparingly, honey is strong) and use that between the layers and on top.... not on the sides though, that is too much. Its good! I have made this recipe dozens of times experimenting with health foods and honey... it always comes out good! However.... i did substitute the sugar for dark honey one time and it came out tasting like a honey cake, not a spice or ginger cake.... so.... don't do that! and it tastes really good with some cream top, from yougurt. Always a very moist cake! Men who like spicy hot food will like this, especially doubled up or more on the fresh grated ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This really is a delicious recipe. Two days later and the cake is still incredibly moist. I used a food processor to grind up the ginger and ended up using a bit extra. The cake looked burnt when it came out of the oven, but it was perfect. It is meant to be a bit dark. The ginger taste was delicious. It's like a light tea cake with some spice and bite to it. I added a lemon glaze with lemon zest and crystallized ginger on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I made this cake and filled it with fresh home-made peach filling. I finished it with a cinnamon and ginger whip cream. Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This is the best cake of this type I have ever eaten in my life. It is so moist! I'm sure powdered sugar would be fine on it, but I went over the top and drizzled a cream cheese icing on it. I actually used one-third cup of grated ginger in the cake. Also threw in some chopped crystallized ginger for fun. I think next time I'll put 1/2 cup grated fresh ginger in for more ginger flavor. Update: Tried it the next day, and it's still moist and delicious! Update (day 3): Made a red, white and blue strawberry/blueberry shortcake out of it and it was better than ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I thought this was delicious in a subtle way, very elegant and simple a far as the flavor goes. My mother-in-law who is Jamaican loved this cake. I followed this recipe to a tee and it came out perfect. I will defiantly make this again! Beautiful cake, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Followed recipe exactly....but I think a sweet topping would have been nice on this. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States