Boscobel Beach Ginger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This cake is delicious! This is the first cake I've made in my new bundt pan, and it came out beautifully. I used a little less than the amount of fresh ginger called for. I didn't think the cake was 'spicy' or overpowering at all, and I did not add any icing to it. I will definitely make it again, probably adding some nuts. Golden raisins might be nice in this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
All in all I think this is pretty good. It gets better with each bite it seems. Would make again just as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MookiePie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alicia
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
this will be the second year that I will make this for Christmas, it is a HIT! I top it with creamcheese frosting II and chopped candied ginger and craisins. SOOOO Good! i will try to post a pic this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
A lovely cake, well turned out, used crystallized ginger (double) as it was all I had at time but looking forward to fresh ginger as it might give it a real kick for those who like the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
My husband loves ginger so I thought I would try this. I myself dont even like ginger BUT this cake is delicious!!!! I will definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This cake is wonderful, I added 1/2 tsp allspice and frosted it with allspice cream cheese frosting from this site which I already had made for another cake, I just thinned it out with milk and poured it over the cake. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stphard212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
A little too ginger-y for me, but that's my personal preference. If you like ginger, you will love this cake - otherwise, you might want to cut back a bit on the ginger. I should have kept in mind what other reviewers have said about its texture - it is more like a pound cake or bread than the fluffy "cake" consistency that I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Not having any all purpose flour on hand, I used some cake flour and the cake came out just as perfect, a nice dense and very moist cake with a wonderful flavor. Definately one I'll keep in mind for future events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Canada, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I made this along with a heavy fruit tart for Christmas desert. It was really nice and provided something on the lighter side. I only used about half the fresh ginger after reading the reviews and thought it came out great. I garnished it with powder sugar and whipped cream on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Moist, light, and delicious. Maybe a little too gingery for my taste (it's so spicy that it tastes a bit "hot") so I think I'll go easy on the fresh ginger next time. I finished the cake with a butter rum glaze and it's just divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States