Boscobel Beach Ginger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Loooooved this! As did everyone else so it only lasted 1 day. I cut the butter down by 1/4c as that was all I had and it was still super moist. I made a lemony sourcream glaze as well. My new favourite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
this is a very good cake, my dad loves it. I do alter it somewhat for him, he loves honey and can't have any salt, and is a health nut. I make it according to recipe except with unsalted butter and i leave out the added salt... and it still comes out great, everyone loves it. I also load it with the fresh ginger root.... maybe 3/4 cup, I don't know... i throw the pulp and the juice and fibers and everything in there! I have made it like a 2 layer cake, and i mix the cake crumbs with raw honey and royal jelly (sparingly, honey is strong) and use that between the layers and on top.... not on the sides though, that is too much. Its good! I have made this recipe dozens of times experimenting with health foods and honey... it always comes out good! However.... i did substitute the sugar for dark honey one time and it came out tasting like a honey cake, not a spice or ginger cake.... so.... don't do that! and it tastes really good with some cream top, from yougurt. Always a very moist cake! Men who like spicy hot food will like this, especially doubled up or more on the fresh grated ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This really is a delicious recipe. Two days later and the cake is still incredibly moist. I used a food processor to grind up the ginger and ended up using a bit extra. The cake looked burnt when it came out of the oven, but it was perfect. It is meant to be a bit dark. The ginger taste was delicious. It's like a light tea cake with some spice and bite to it. I added a lemon glaze with lemon zest and crystallized ginger on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I made this cake and filled it with fresh home-made peach filling. I finished it with a cinnamon and ginger whip cream. Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This is the best cake of this type I have ever eaten in my life. It is so moist! I'm sure powdered sugar would be fine on it, but I went over the top and drizzled a cream cheese icing on it. I actually used one-third cup of grated ginger in the cake. Also threw in some chopped crystallized ginger for fun. I think next time I'll put 1/2 cup grated fresh ginger in for more ginger flavor. Update: Tried it the next day, and it's still moist and delicious! Update (day 3): Made a red, white and blue strawberry/blueberry shortcake out of it and it was better than ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I thought this was delicious in a subtle way, very elegant and simple a far as the flavor goes. My mother-in-law who is Jamaican loved this cake. I followed this recipe to a tee and it came out perfect. I will defiantly make this again! Beautiful cake, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Followed recipe exactly....but I think a sweet topping would have been nice on this. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Smells great while it's baking. Nice texture. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This cake is so delicious. Perfectly light and the taste is exactly was I was looking for. I followed the recipe as written but I did have to bake my cake for 20 minutes longer than stated. (I covered the cake for the last 10 minutes as I was concerned it was going to burn). I made the cake as an ingredient for my Ginger and Pear Trifle that I am serving for dessert tomorrow evening. It smelt so delicious when it came out of the oven that I just had to have a slice there and then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I love this cake! I made it exactly as the recipe stated, no changes in anythign and it came out perfect! It's moist on the inside with a lovely caramel color crust on the outside, and the flavor is so good, not too spicy or overpowering. A perfect cake for those who don't want a sugar heavy dessert. Nice job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States