Borscht with Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
No need to precook the beets. Shred them and cook directly in the meat stock. Also, leave out the bacon to make it lower in fat. I aaded somne vegetable stock to make the stock richer in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
this recipe is easy to make and really great tasting! I would also be great to add deer sausage or pepperoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I tried this against a Borscht recipe from a Russian friend of my mother's; a family classic from eons ago. I changed a few things to my liking (more broth, less bacon and sausage). Even mom likes this one better. Thanks Robert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
My husand loved this recipe, kids didn't really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
This was really good and tasty eventhough I also left the bacon out. Even my husband who thinks he hates beets loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
THE best borscht I've ever had! Probably better than Grandma made. Friends and family enthusiastically "beet" a path to my house to join in for my annual Borscht Feast. I round up the quantities in the recipe for the meat and veggies. Everyone raves this dish. Great Job, Robert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
Finally, I've found the perfect receipe for old fashion "Borscht"!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebcamuse
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This was an excellent recipe...I was looking for a way to use beets (I don't like them) that my husband grew in our garden, and this was a great choice. I used pieces of stew meat instead of a pound of beef chuck (cut cooking time in half), smoked bacon, and kielbasa.The beet flavor isn't overpowering and the herbs are all well-balanced. It is extremely hearty and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebcamuse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I changed it a bit, so it isn't fair that I am rating it a 4. Without the huge amount of meat, this is easily a 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States