Borscht II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
Two spoons up! Chopped everything with a knife, and it took just a little bit of time. Add about 1 tablespoonful of dill weed for a really nice flavor.While the soup was simmering, I made some French bread. Oh, what a good meal. This soup tastes even better the next day.Highly recommend this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
A tablespoon of dill put this into the "awesome" category.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
I loved this soup!!! I am an amateur cook and I was able to make it without difficulty. It is a lot of work but worth it. I am freezing the extras for a cold winter night when I am too tired to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
I had never eaten borscht before. However, my curiosity was piqued by some friends who recently visited Russia and raved about the borscht. So I looked up several recipes and this one seemed the most appealing. All I can say is WOW!!! This soup is incredible!! It's rich yet it is really low in fat (I refrigerated the broth overnight and skimmed off the fat) and high in fiber. The color is gorgeous. It fits in perfectly with the way I eat. I used my Cuisinart to shred the veggies so it was really a snap. This is now one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas2Step

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
When I told my financee that I was going to make him borscht, he told me that I can't make it properly. I followed this recipe with a few changes: I added dill, and used only half a can of tomato juice, but used tomato paste as well. I also added some potatoes since he loves them. I also had to add a bit more water. He loved it and asked me to make it again the next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
My mother and my grandmothers have served us borscht all my life. I remember it with big chunks of tender beef with sour cream stirred in. A large plate of wareneki, also with sour cream and fried onions and crackles or real bacon bits. It's amazing I'm not overweight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
My family thoroughly enjoyed this! I used a chuck roast and a few pork chops with bone in, since the stores I visited did not have a bone in beef shank roast, and it worked well! I will definitely make this again! What a great fall dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
very rich and lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I added dill, 2 tbsp vinegar, 1 tbsp soya sauce and served with sour cream and rolls. We all enjoyed the soup and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Well...pretty much the same comment as everyone else....added the 2 tablespoons of dill and 2 or 3 tablespoons of soy sause...as well as a couple more beets...onions...whole head of cabbage. I also added a teaspons of srushed garlic and 2 tablespoons of Franks. Wow.....a blob of sour cream and I am warmed through and through!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rockmycountry

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States