Borscht I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This was my first taste of borscht and I loved it. It was work but very good and even better freezing lunch portions. Told the kids it was vampire soup and they ate their veggies! At first I forgot the dill and it was great then too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
It was great easy to make. I kept the beet in the soup and cut it up. The kids loved it. Will make again for sure . Tk's for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
Delicious. Definitely a keeper. Took a little more effort than I would normally apply to a soup, but I did add a step by grating the beets after they'd been cooked in the stock. In response to the other reviews: yeah, a little garlic wouldn't hurt but it's fine without. And I LIKE having the cabbage in two different textures--I think that was the point. if b but it's worth it. Wonder if I could do the mashed potatoes separatelyIn response to the other reviews: yeah,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
I also have never had borscht but got the recipe to make for an Eastern European Themed potluck. Everyone raved about it. My husband gave it a 10. It takes a while to make but it is worth it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHEL V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
This borscht recipe is amazing. It is as hearty as they come and very full flavoured. I've made a few changes that you may like. A couple of cloves of garlic in the sauce really enhances the flavour. Also, I like to fry all of the cabbage so it is all of a consistant texture. Serve the soup with some sourdough bread and you will have a instant hit. If any of you ever end up in the Kootenay region of British Columbia Canada you should stop by the Grand Forks Hotel. Their diner makes a wonderful example of this soup and also has many other traditional Russian dishes that you are bound to enjoy. Cheers, Mike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
mmmmm,soooooo good! the best borscht i've ever had i grated the beats into the soup instead of throwing them away thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
I was trying to find a borscht recipe as good as my friend's mom's. This is so much better. I have made it 4-5 times, and it gets better each time, as I make my own changes. This is the best borscht I have ever eaten. However, I don't discard the beet, I grate it into the soup! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
i love it the kids hate it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
This was such a yummy recipe! I've never had borscht before, but this came out so well that I will definitely make it again. And again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2001
This is the first time I have ever made borscht and it was delicious. I did make a few small changes by adding 1 cup of carrots and 2 stalks of celery. I also used butter instead of margarine and in the mashed potatoes I added light margarine instead of regular to lower the fat content slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States